GARRI: THE UNSEEN STORY BEHIND THE MEAL

Today, I accompanied my mom to the market to purchase cassava for processing into garri (NIGERIA CERELA😂😂) . I'd like to share my experience with you.

We woke up early, around 5:30 am, got ready, and set out for the market. My mom knew that cassava isn't typically sold in the evening, so we needed to go early. Upon arrival, the market was bustling with people. My mom knew exactly where to buy cassava, so we headed straight there.

My mom carefully selected the best cassava for garri, and we made the purchase. We bought a large bag, as we wanted to make a substantial quantity of garri. After completing the transaction, we transported the cassava home.

Once we arrived home, my mom asked me to help peel the cassava. I underestimated the difficulty of this task, and my hands ached afterward. Following peeling, we thoroughly washed the cassava.

Next, we loaded the cassava into a truck and took it to the grinding engine. My mom had established a relationship with an engineer who would assist us with grinding.

Upon arrival at the engine, the engineer helped us grind the cassava. After grinding, we placed the mixture into bags and handed them over for pressing. My mom emphasized the importance of pressing in producing high-quality garri.

After the grinding and pressing we went back home and fried the cassava to give us our final product and boom it was so nice, the adventure today was good tho stressful

That was my experience Today. I gained valuable insight into the process of making garri. My mom patiently guided me through each step.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center