STOP 🛑 TAKING EVERYTHING PERSONALLY

Realizing that I shouldn't take everything personally.



I remember when I use to take everything personally.
When it came down to a simple passing comment, or when a friend had an change of tone, and even a simple misunderstanding would send me spiraling into vortex of self doubt.
I use to think that the world was giving me signs that I just wasn't good enough, that I would constantly get judged and that other people words and actions were just a reflection of my worth.
Sometimes I use to believe that when someone snapped at me, it was because I did something wrong. Or if I send a person a text and that person doesn't reply it was because that person was mad at me.
I really didnt like when someone gave me constructive criticism I thought that someone were attacking my character.


It was this one day me and my bestfriend had an argument that left me feeling particularly hurt and confused. That when I knew I had to take a step back and examine why did I so upset like that (as I thought 💭 to myself) I had to really sit back and think 🤔 and then I realized that my bestfriend frustration wasn't actually about me it was about something that happen in her life that I wasn't even aware of. I felt so bad that I had to go an apologize to my bestfriend 👭 to let her know how wrong I was.


That's when I had to learn that everything is not about me that I had to stop seeing the world through a lens that was only focused on me.
I also had to realize that other people's behaviors are often influenced by their own experiences, stresses, and emotions of which it had nothing to do with me.
I had to tell myself that people do have their own lives, their own struggles, and their own reason of behaving the way they do.
So I had to learn how to take control and not take everything personally.
So one I believe my faith was tested again I was at work and one of my co-workers approached me about a situation. At that moment I not to over think and to take a deep breath and reflect before reacting and when I did that I notice that what she was talking to me about had nothing to do with me and I was able to have a conversation with her about the situation.
I learned to focuse on my own actions and reactions, I stopped seeking validation from others and started finding it within myself.
I also started challenging these assumption by asking for clarification when necessary, instead of just assuming the worst. As I gradually learned to stop taking every personall, thats when I noticed a significant shift in my emotional well-being.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now