Night Visit to Bankerohan Public Market in Davao City

It was already past 8pm when my friend and I finished our routines in the gym. On the way home, I wondered why she did not pass by our usual route. When I asked about it, she said she needed to buy some food in the market.

We stopped by Bankerohan Public Market. “Bangkerohan,” as we fondly pronounce it, is the largest and busiest market in Davao City. It is a major source of fresh produce and other food items especially fruits and vegetables. It is open 24/7 because it has become a popular destination both for locals and tourists.

Normally, when my friend stops by a place before going home, I just stay in the car and wait for her. Last night though, I thought of going with her because I have been to Bangkerohan only once! I thought maybe I could find some orange sweet potatoes, which I have been craving for days already.

So, that was what we looked for first because she also needed it for her client’s order the next day. She is a hotel owner and a caterer, by the way.

She bought hers first and while waiting for mine to be packed, she said she would go around to look for other ingredients she needed. I stayed where she left me and could not go around because I was not familiar with the vicinity of Bangkerohan market. I did not feel safe too because the place was not well lighted.

While waiting for her to come back, I saw some fruits and vegetables which are familiar to me. Hope you can relate to them too.
First was “Marang”. I am not sure how you call them in your countries. It looks like a jackfruit because they are both green in color and have spiky exterior, but Marang is smaller in size. Contrary to the sweet smell of Jackfruit, Marang has a strong smell that I cannot describe. For sure, I do not find it pleasant. Its fruit inside is soft and slimy.

I used to it Marang when I was in elementary. My cousins and I would cook the seed because it tastes like nuts. Sadly, after I got choked, I never ate it ever again!

Beside Marang were pineapples without their crowns anymore. I’m sure pineapples are common in your places too. I used to eat them too when I was younger but stopped when I experienced something itchy on my tongue after having some. Today I only eat canned pineapples. I use them to make desserts or side dishes.

On the floor were vegetables like “Okra”, cucumbers, squash and “sayote”.

If I am not mistaken, okra is called ladies’ fingers in foreign countries. I never ate them because I was told it is slimy. So, no, thanks!
Beside it are cucumbers. I love them for juicing or serving with tomatoes and onions then pairing them with fish or even nachos with beef and cheese.

Another I saw were “sayote”, Chayote or Mirliton Squash to others. They taste really good when sauteed with meat and other vegetables. We call this mixture of vegetables with meat “chopsuey”. Beside sayote was squash which I eat only when made as soup.

Last, my favorite, Cardava banana!!! I cannot live a day without eating classic fried banana or “turon”. Turon is a deep-fried banana wrapped in spring roll of wrappers.

How do you serve these fruits and vegetables in your country?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments