Copilot as Your Digital Companion

Huge upgrades to Copilot, Microsoft's new AI assistant: It will be able to see what's on your screen, speak to you in voice, and deeply think over big and complicated problems. As a heavy computer user, I am very excited about the changes.

Source

I think it's cool that it's going to be an AI that can actually see what I am looking at on the screen. It won't be about describing it or taking screenshots; Copilot may just look with me at the screen. And instead of typing out everything, being able to just talk with it?

That could make using a computer way more natural.

I like how Microsoft frames Copilot as more of a buddy rather than an assistant robot. It's an interesting emotional angle - maybe it could help raise my spirits when work is bothering me. I'm just wondering whether AI can really provide meaningful emotional support.

Obviously it would just be mimicking emotions and not actually sentient.

That new "Think Deeper" feature sounds useful for tackling problems harder or making decisions. Having artificial intelligence lay out comparisons and do in-depth analysis saves lots of time and helps with brainstorming.

Of course, with such AI - one that sees and hears everything on your computer - privacy is definitely an issue.

Thankfully, Microsoft says they're not saving any visual data. Still, I would want to be very careful about the sensitive info I share with Copilot.

Remember the whole Apple bringing back years of deleted photos on people's phone?

The whole concept of AI agents that are capable of doing tasks for you is both exciting and a little scary. Try to imagine asking your computer: "buy me groceries", and having it actually place the order!

But there is huge potential there too for things to go wrong.

All in all, I'm optimistic about Copilot's new capabilities: if Microsoft can get the user experience right and build trust, it could make using Windows and Office far more pleasant and productive. I look forward to trying it myself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center