Anticipating The New Football Season.

If I am not mistaken, it's been 83 days since the last fixtures of the English Premier League matches were played, and I am excited as many football lovers across the world countdown to the 2024/25 EPL season that will kick off on Friday, 16th of August 2024. On the last day of the previous season, I felt the same way I have always felt at the end of every football season, and it's been like that for over a decade now.

Image was designed on Canva

My weekends are basically for football, and even though we had the Euro, Copa America, and Olympics during the long break, none of them filled the void the EPL left behind. I am a big fan of football even though I no longer play but only watch the sport, and the English Premier League happens to be my favorite competition in the world. I watch a few clubs in the Spanish language, the German Bundesliga, Serie A, and the French League, but the Premier League matters more to me as a Liverpool fan.


Being a Kop, you will understand why I am anticipating the new season. The 2023/24 season didn't go as planned despite having big ambition; we wanted to win titles but ended up with the Carling Cup, which is better than nothing. It was a tough one between Liverpool, Manchester City, and Arsenal, but the best team got the crown in the end.

We crashed out of other competitions at a crucial point, and I just wish we had bagged more for the club's record and for our ex-manager, who made his stay at the club a memorable one. Going into the new season, we won't be having Jurgen Klopp as our manager, and I can't wait to see what the new manager, Arne Slot, has in store for the club.

Although Arne Slot had a great preseason, defeating the likes of Real Betis, Manchester United, and Arsenal, who were among our biggest rivals last season but the preseason isn't enough to judge the real competition that is ahead, as every club will be aiming for glory this new season. It wouldn't be an easy one for the coach, and as much as the fans would want him to deliver in his first season, we should expect some disappointing performances across various competitions.

We haven't had a significant change among the players except for Thiago Alcantara, who retired after spending the 23/24 season struggling with injury, so I believe the team spirit is still very high and the new season will just be a continuation of the previous season.

I am not expecting anything less from the other clubs, as Manchester City will be looking forward to defending their title, while Mikel Arteta would as well want to pick up the baton from where it ended last season. Let's not forget about the likes of Manchester United, Tottenham, and particularly Chelsea, the London side that has signed as many players as possible just to step up their game.

Honestly, my expectations for my club this season are high, and despite hoping that Liverpool will make the best out of the new football season, I am mentally prepared for whatever disappointment that comes from the team. The fun, banter, injuries, and every other thing that can be part of the game are welcomed because I just want to enjoy the season to the fullest.

Image was designed on Canva

To have a feel of what's to happen in the new season, I would be watching the Community Shield match between Manchester United and City. This particular fixture is an appetizer, a derby, and I expect nothing less than the best from both sides.

There will be a lot of transfers as the kickoff approaches, so I will keep tab most especially on the big Premier League signings. As part of the fun, I have joined various fantasy leagues and would be looking; this would make me feel much more part of the game than just watching from the TV screen.


While we anticipate for the new season, let's get a banter's cloak ready and I wish every football lover across the world a wonderful football season.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments