How teamwork has helped me this year

Towards the ending of last year, while I was about rounding off being an undergraduate, there came moments when I had to seat back and think of life as a whole and where my place stands in all of it. Knowing that in the world generally and my country in particular, fighting to achieve success and gain freedom financially is not what should be taken with levity.
Previous, I have ventured in things that had helped me, things I started with intensity, but along the line consistently started depreciating. There was something missing in all that I wasn't doing, and that was TEAMWORK.

Teamwork is the collaborative effort of a group of individuals working together towards a common goal. It involves sharing responsibilities, leveraging each person's strengths, and communicating effectively to achieve objectives more efficiently than individuals working alone. -ChatGPT

Without teamwork, one will work only when he or she feels like it, when it is convenient and will get demotivated easier then things don't come the way it was planned, or should. I have come to understand that no matter how high the potential of a line of business is, once it is approached with the stated attitude, one will get frustrated and eventually quit. Likewise, no matter how little the potential of a business is, if one would treat it with a persistent, consistent and positive approach, it can skyrocket to no limit.

Luckily for me, I met an old friend early this year who told me about an organisation of young people who las a soul purpose of personal development. In that organizations, they teach people online skills, teach them how to monetize those skills and also invest out of the money earned for a greater future as a team. Ever since I have joined, I have been able to break out of some habits I had even unconsciously.

-The habits of stopping at an average and convenient level
Before, while learning anything, when I am able to get to a certain level or understanding, the passion for learning more and diving more into it started depreciating.

-The habit of inconsistency
I do things when I feel good or motivated enough to do it, I enjoy being in my comfort zone at all time, and this has affected me a lot. Nothing thrives without consistently come rain come shine.

Other Values I got was the habit of reading books, we have this weekly section where everyone comes out to teach the others one after the other from what they have learns from a book over the past seven days, this has given the initial push to start reading, I also got the habit of wanting to push more than the usual and striving to be a pro in what ever skill I am learning, these has been made easier because I now have a team, and when I face a problem that might have getten me tired after some minutes of trying to solve it, I have people around me who I can leverage on to learn without breaking a sweat. Talking about leveraging, difference people has different points of view, difference experiences and different strengths and weaknesses, in a team we learn to leverage on each other to get best results.

They say "If you want to move fast, move alone, but if you want to go far, move together", this is true but I disagree to some extent. It depending on the people you're moving with, some set of people will speed up your movement if you move along with them, and still take your far.

This past six months has exposed me to a new direction, a different learning curve and also given me a clearer picture of where I stand, and where I am going, and to position myself to get there through the set of people I now move with.

Thank you for taking your time to read from me. Have a blessed weekend

@corporateay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments