Taking Control of My Mind!

Has it ever seemed like your mind is not completely yours?

premium_photo-1689177357836-52c9d90d3d6f.jpeg

Source

If there is one thing that hits me hard, it is the idea of someone else having control over my mental faculties should I fail to do so. This seems like a metaphorical slap in the face telling me to take responsibility for my thoughts and actions

This makes me think back at some points in my life where I was most confused and lost often as a result of allowing external influences determine my thoughts. These could have been societal expectations, peer pressure or even messages being sent by media; I found myself swimming in streams of thought which were not really my own.

However, with age comes wisdom and the realization of self-awareness and mindfulness. By consciously listening to my own thoughts and emotions, I have learned when they are moving in opposition to what I value or aim for. Taking my mind’s control does not refer to blocking out others’ voices or overlooking different perspectives. Instead, it means being receptive and open-minded to new ideas while still remaining myself. It is a conscious decision of which thoughts are worth the time while allowing other ones to go.

photo-1592895792095-85fa785192a9.jpeg

Source

To me, one of the most effective ways of reclaiming control of my mind is meditation. I have learnt over time how to shut down the noise outside myself and meaningfully connect with my innermost thoughts and emotions too often. This process gives me an opportunity to approach each day fresh like every other day. However, meditation is only a single piece in this puzzle. My mind cannot be controlled unless I am disciplined and self-reflective too. This entails limiting interaction with people who drain me emotionally as well as learning how to take care of myself first in any situation that arises.

It is true that at times I feel like I am losing my mind control. There are occasions when negativism and self-doubt creep in, almost derailing me from my path. However, even during those moments, I tell myself that it is up to me to decide how to respond. I can either give in to pessimism or take measures that could make me see things differently in a positive light.

Taking control of my mind is not something that happens in one moment; it is a journey. It’s about constantly aiming at being the best version of me and refusing to let external factors decide on where my path should go. This involves accepting ownership over my choices and understanding that I have the authority to determine what becomes of me.

If you ever feel like your brain is being interfered with by things beyond your power, then remember that it can be changed. By instilling an understanding of oneself, living in mindfulness and holding dear what you believe in most can enable you gain control of your head and navigate you through a more satisfying life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center