Survival: What if you go bankrupt?

Heeeyho Readers! Are you prepared to survive after losing everything?


This post seem to miss the outdoor aspect of the Outdoor and more community, although, in my viewpoint, it is somehow connected. Outdoor and survivalism go hand in hand and not always hit the extremes. In that regard, we've talked about preparedness for war, natural disaster, economic collapse, medical emergencies, camping in extreme conditions, et cetera. However, are we prepared for the number one cause of homelessness?

Finding oneself surviving on the streets could happen in different ways: Statistics vary according to the websites I consulted before writing this post, but bankruptcy (loss of job plus debt) generally stand in the top one cause of homelessness, followed by substance abuse and jail. It can happen to anyone, anytime, and without notice, especially as inflation rises and companies lay off employees.

What's the idea of this post?

I want to discover if the Hive folks are prepared to endure what I call the urban survival. Do you think about the topic? Would you give up or run to the mountains for more safety in case of bankruptcy?

The situation is simple

Imagine you lose your income and all of a sudden life goes south (inflation, huge recession, etc). You are unable to honor your debts and the bank takes the house. Soon your fiat savings vanish and you already sold the car. No friends nor family to back you up. What would you do?

tina-bosse-aH_95oQDksA-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Tina Bosse on Unsplash


Mr.P's Strategy

My strategy is the result of experimentation. No, I've never been homeless. Not in a easily reversible way, at least. A handful of times I found myself houseless for several weeks or even months while traveling around the world. How's that different? It differs that I could go back home anytime I wanted. However, during those months traveling, I was indeed living on the streets, sleeping on the streets, sleeping under bridges, taking shower in gas stations and often depending on strangers. I believe this experience prepared me somehow.

So, bang! I'm out. Now what? Keep in mind: this is totally personal. First of all, I wouldn't seek help at a shelter (I tried this option once and failed because of internal rules and other nonsense). I'm more into using a tent for shelter. With that in mind, here are my 5 hobo rules:

1. Stay away from trouble

Let's be more precise: stay away from substance abuse and anything involved. I know drug addiction figures as one of the causes of homelessness, but assuming a clean person who happen to lose everything... It's easy to fall for that trap. I'm on the streets so why making life worst. Believe me, it's easy to recompose on a clean mind.

2. Move out of big cities

Big cities are a nightmare. What else can I say? Getting out is my top priority. Smaller communities, where people are more prone to talk, are easier to find help. This leads to number three.

Edit.: Away from big cities it's also easier to live in a tent without getting in trouble.

3. Talk to people

It's time to talk to people and explain my situation and ask for help. Several times during my 'hobo' travels people were willing to chat and even open their houses to offer a warm bed and shower. My openness and appearance played an important role, so off to number four.

4. Take care of oneself

Living on the streets does not mean being untidy. You have no idea how showering can change a person, especially morally. Gas stations, gyms, public beach showers, rivers — all tested and approved. Shower, shave (if possible), wash clothes. That way I feel a lot better to move on and try to find a gig to raise some money.

5. Be prepared to work with anything

Finding work won't be impossible if following the above, but I gotta be prepared to do anything. In most countries the pay won't be enough to rent a place, but will at least cover food expenses. A filled belly definitely boosts our morale. I can move on from there.

The next step is to continue to talk to people until I find a solid shelter and better-paying jobs (I call gigs, tasks, etc).

The key takeaway

Believe me or not, but there are more good people than evil in this crazy world of ours. If you stay clean and sane, sooner or later someone will help if you are genuine and proactive.

Do you get the idea? I feel like I'm already wandering with this post and it's unlikely someone's gonna read this far. If you have, congratulations and an immense thank you! I'd rather read your plans than writing a bunch of personal rules.

Have you ever thought about the topic?

leave your post in the comments

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center