Survival Equipment: Victorinox Swiss Army Huntsman

Heeeyho Readers! Let's talk about pocket knives!


For a solo hobo traveler, the Swiss Army knife is the MacGyver of the equipments.

Rambo-style knives are cool, but carrying a thick blade while hitchhiking and going through borders is not always wise. In that case, a quality pocket knife might pass unnoticed while serving as a wonderful lightweight multi-tool. Victorinox is my go-to choice.

I've been into Victorinox pocket knives since 2000, when dad gave me a Fisherman model — now retired. Known as the Swiss Army knife, Victorinox has been into cutlery for over a hundred years. One of their most famous pocket knives is probably the SwissChamp, which comes with impressive 32 functions.

After retiring the good ole Fisherman, my go-to pocket knife has been a Huntsman. Functions between the two are similar in number, though some tools vary. Today I'll focus on the Huntsman.

Victorinox Huntsman

The difference between the Huntsman and the Fisherman are two: Huntsman comes with a wood saw to replace a fish scaler and a corkscrew replaces the Phillips screwdriver. Other than that they are the same.

20220808_113542.jpg

Victorinox Huntsman


Th Huntsman comes with 15 functions. I've used every function on various travels, fishing trips, adventures, etc. What I like about this pocket knife is its 97 grams of weight and the blade size suits my needs — it's not exaggerated that the police would bother, nor too small to cut meat and other bigger stuff.

Tools

  • Reamer, punch and sewing aw
  • Key ring
  • Multipurpose hook
  • Blade, small
  • Toothpick
  • Can opener
  • Screwdriver 3 mm
  • Corkscrew
  • Tweezers
  • Bottle opener
  • Screwdriver 6 mm
  • Wire stripper
  • Scissors
  • Blade, large
  • Wood saw

20220808_113657.jpg

Toothpick and tweezers

What can I say about the toothpick? I rarely use it, but whenever I desperately needed one... it was there. Toothpick and tweezers might be one of the most emblematic tools on a Victorinox pocket knife.

If the toothpick lays unused, the tweezers on the other hand... What a helpful little tool. From removing tiny wood splinters from a finger to holding those annoying water-based Revell decals used in plastic modeling. There's always someone asking for tweezers.


"Kitchen appliances"

These three tools are part of my adventuring kitchen appliances, although there are extra uses. They combine a corkscrew, can opener, bottle opener, wire stripper, 6 mm screwdriver, and a 3mm screwdriver.

20220808_114215.jpg

During my adventure in Patagonia, a friend and I brought a bottle of wine up the mountains. After a day of harsh weather and people having their tents flooded, we decided to celebrate the sun.

"Anybody's got a corkscrew," someone asked.

Nobody had. So, there came the Victorinox to save the day.

20220808_114811.jpg

I have lost account of how many tuna and sardine cans went through my pocket knife's can opener.

The 6mm and 3mm screwdrivers also saved the day when I had to open my fishing reel while out on a fishing trip — just yesterday I tightened a pan handle at home using the 6mm screwdriver.


Other tools

20220808_114716.jpg

Wood saw is a bit of a under-used tool for me. Tree branches and dried sticks for firewood are generally split with the knee and nobody saws logs and planks with such a small tool.

However, I have to admit this little saw is sharp; a committed person could saw a wooden plank rather quickly.

20220808_114936.jpg

On the right, you see what Victorinox call a reamer, punch and sewing awl. I use it mostly to open holes on whatever needs a hole: plastic, rubber, wood, etc. It's been through a lot and has kept its sharpness wonderfully.

The hook sees only one incredible use: remove tent pegs from hardened soil. Best-tool-ever for the purpose.

Not included in these series (editor mistake) is the scissors. There's no secret to a pair of scissors. They work brilliantly and I especially like them to trim my nails — I just can't use nail cutters and it's one more item to carry, that's why. Now to what matters.


The blades

Victorinox is famous for their quality stainless steel blades. I tried to research the materials they use but couldn't find a precise answer. What I can safely say though: they last a lifetime. My old Fisherman has been through a lot for 22 years and, if not for fear of losing it (sentimental value), it would still be in use, with its sharpness preserved. Can't hide some scars here and there caused by a Victorinox.

Now, I have to agree... the blade isn't as large as a Rambo-style knife. At around 62mm (large) and 40mm (small) the blades on the Huntsman suit a lot of purposes, but failed, for example, to fillet some fish when I'd forgotten a proper filled blade. In sum: it works, it's sharp, it's absolutely durable; but won't be perfect for some tasks.

20220808_114905.jpg

Large and small blades


Next weekend I'll try to purchase a world-famous Opinel pocket-knife, since my friend @stortebeker has talked me into it. Let's see how the blade compares to a Victorinox.

I hope you've enjoyed this review. Give Victorinox a chance and I'm sure you'll have a knife for generations to come.

Until next time.

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now