Ruger Mark IV from the bench 25 yards

One of the things I like to do with a new pistol, is test it off the bench for accuracy. This helps me determine how accurate a weapon (or ammunition) is without introducing as much of my personal error into the mix.

A few of you may remember I posted a couple months ago about a new pistol build that I did. I've only had it out a couple times since the build. Today was another day, Happy Fathers Day to me! Well today, I decided to do a bench test with this little sweetie.
RugerMarkIVbench.jpg

This is a Ruger Mark IV Tactical, with a few upgrades. The upgrades include:
New grips
New compensator
New Volquartsen internal springs and sear (reduced to 1lb 12oz pull)
New Tandem Kross Flat trigger
Tandem Kross Halo Ring charging handle
New Vortex Venom Red Dot sight

Even though it shot well off-hand, during my first two short range outings, I was amazed at how accurate this was when shooting off of a supported position.

I first started with 10 rounds at 10 yards, pulled a couple shots on the center target, but wow was impressed.
RugerMarkIV10shot10yards.jpg

Then I put another 10 into the bottom right target.
RugerMarkIV10shotGroups10yards2.jpg

This went so well, I decided to move out to 15 yards and put another 10 rounds into the bottom left target.
RugerMarkIV10shotGroups10yards.jpg

Holy cow, I thought this was so good I needed to go further. I had to change locations, but then had 25 yards position to shoot from. Wow, again I was impressed, I've had rifles that didn't hold a 25 yard group like this.
RugerMarkIV10shots25yards.jpg

My son Matthew says that skill is repeatable. So I decided to add another 10 rounds to that 25 yard group. That high single a called flier, all on me.
RugerMarkIV20shots25yards.jpg

And then just for good measure, I added another 10 rounds for a total of 30 rounds at 25 yards group.
RugerMarkIV30shots25yards.jpg

Keep in mind, I was shooting for group size not trying to adjust for hits directly on the bull. Needless to say, I'll be making a small adjustment a few clicks to the right. I am very pleased. About 500 rounds of 4 different types so far with only one fail to feed. This ended up exactly the way I had hoped, and I don't think I'll bother upgrading to the longer barrel as originally planned. Instead, I have a nice suppressor on order, just waiting for the federal tax stamp.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now