Rate My Backpack!

rate my backpack cover.jpg

I may be a rural resident with some woods knowledge, but I make no claims to camping or backpacking expertise. I haven't even pitched a tent in a couple years, and all of my hiking has just been day hikes with no overnight stays. This is the current state of my efforts toward changing that. Note that this is still overlapping a bit between basic backpacking and fire season emergency kit. The air is getting smoky again. Regardless, what do you think of the setup? What is missing, what is unnecessary, and what would you change first? Advice is welcome!

The backpack itself is a large ALICE pack (older US military surplus), which requires an external frame. I modified it with a MOLLE (current US military surplus) waist belt. It's paid for, so that's a plus. Also, while not as comfortable as an internal frame, it offers airflow across my back. That is arguably better in extreme heat, and lets insulation layers actually insulate if it is cold.

I strapped my big Ka-Bar knife and its small companion plus my Silky saw in its sheath pouch on one side. On the other side, I have a folding entrenching tool and a canteen. This isn't perfect. I want to get some MOLLE-compatible canteen covers and switch the canteen to the waistbelt next, or maybe get a Nalgene bottle carrier instead of sticking with the old milsurp stuff I have accumulated. Either way, then I can move the shovel lower on the pack for better comfort.

I stitched a buckle onto some webbing to strap my sleeping bag to the bottom of the back and frame. This is a heavy, bulky bag, so it is at the top of my list for the next big upgrade when finances allow. I also have a carabiner clipped through a coil of parachute cord, and I tucked the loose coil into the space behind one of the big external pockets to keep it from flapping around and getting entangled. Those secret pass-through slots also offer a place to stash a hatchet or other useful tools as needed.


MAIN COMPARTMENT

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


The main compartment also has a smaller internal pouch, apparently originally intended for radio equipment. I'm not sure whether I should use it for my radio (see below) or to contain loose food packaging (also below).

backpack clothing.jpg

This part of the kit is most likely to change with the seasons. I have a puffy vest, thermal underwear, a spare T-shirt, regular ol' underdrawers (scandalous!), and a light fleece jacket with water-resistant shoulders. I also have a cheap tarp rolled up as an emergency shelter option.

backpack gadgets.jpg

If I am headed into the woods, I want my weather radio on hand. Inclement weather, forest fires, and other emergencies can pop up. My binoculars are here because I want to sit somewhere quiet and observe the wildlife. The Katadyn water filter is bulky compared to my Sawyer filter kit, but it works faster. I also have several spare water bottles since it is currently summer here and quite warm. These can be re-filled and re-used quite a few times, and serve as a reserve for my canteen.

backpack mess kit.jpg

Here again, I may be adding more luxury than necessary. I have a potholder, a bottle of olive oil, some plastic camping utensils, tongs, and a rubber scraper. My Stanley cook pot has some seasonings stuffed inside, too.

There's an over-enthusiastic guy on YouTube with a playlist of modifications and hacks for this Stanley cook pot. I don't like all of them, but I did swap the lid tab for an S-biner.

I could dramatically condense this by skipping one of the nesting cups and stuffing a spork into the cook pot. I also probably don't need the tongs. I will be revisiting this later.

backpack food.jpg

Basic stuff here. Granola bars, jerky, ramen, nuts, and freeze-fried food. The variety can change, and I should make another batch of hardtack soon.

backpack old MRE.jpg

Here' s something scary, though. An ancient MRE I stripped a long while ago! The energy bars and other stuff has been sampled, but this remains untouched. I have a heater bag, minestrone pouch, and a chunk of chicken. We'll see if it's even edible... it's long past the "best by" date. I'm less concerned about the pouch of peanut butter, instant coffee, and instant fruit-flavored drink powder I also still have.


BIG POCKETS

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


left pocket hygeine.jpg

LEFT POCKET: Hygiene. Toilet paper, small towel, comb, castile soap, toothbrush, and toothpaste. Keep everything sanitary! Some wet wipes or hand sanitizer might still be in order here.

middle pocket warmth.jpg

CENTER POCKET: Warmth. Wool socks, warm hat, cheap poncho, and tent pegs because this is where they fit.

right pocket first aid.jpg

RIGHT POCKET: First Aid. Spare glasses, again because this is just where it fit. More importantly, this has a trauma pak, an Israeli bandage, a boo-boo kit with small band-aids and some medications, plus the foot warmers that should get shifted to the middle pocket.


SMALL POCKETS

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


The large ALICE pack also has a row of small pockets. I don't know what these are originally intended for, because they don't fit a standard AR mag. Here's what I used them for.

top left fire.jpg

TOP LEFT: Fire. Esbit stove, lots of fuel tablets, waterproof matches, ferro rod with magnesium block, and a basic Bic lighter.

top middle altoids.jpg

TOP MIDDLE: Miscellaneous. Handkerchief and an Altoids tin survival kit. I included a Swiss Army knife, a P51 can opener, a mini fishing kit, a mini Bic lighter, a matchbook, a wet wipe, and a glasses lens wipe along with various needles wrapped in thread and a thimble. I have a needle threader I should add, and I plan to swap out one of the fire starters to add some other items.

Not shown: a yo-yo reel and a headlamp.

top right navigation.jpg

TOP RIGHT: Navigation. Pen, notepad, handkerchief, compass, batteries for various devices, and a roll of quarters and a $20 bill for emergencies. I don't want to keep batteries in my radio or headlamp due to leakage risk. The money is heavy though, and I'm not really sure I need quarters these days. Pay phones are obsolete and laundromats probably need dollar bills.


COVER POCKET

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


cover hat gloves.jpg

The cover has a small opening into a large pouch, and I stashed a pair of leather gloves inside that along with a folded-up boonie hat.


CONCLUSION

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


Anyway, that's what I have so far. The backpacking basics seem to be mostly covered.

  1. Navigation: compass (need local maps)
  2. Sun Protection: hat (need sunscreen)
  3. Insulation: extra clothing, sleeping bag
  4. Illumination: headlamp
  5. First-aid supplies
  6. Fire: lots of options
  7. Repair kit and tools, including knife
  8. Nutrition: extra food
  9. Hydration: water, filter
  10. Emergency shelter: tarp, tent pegs, and line

I know there is room for improvement, both literally and figuratively, and a few items are missing. I await your comments and criticism.

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center