A Survival Kit for Insurgent Warfare?

Suppose, hypothetically, you live in a country where civil unrest or foreign invasion looms. Thank goodness the cold war ended 30 years ago and no one has to worry about Russian invasion nowadays. Oh, wait, this post is two months after Russia invaded Ukraine. This isn't hypothetical, it's late!

As usual, I must note that I am not a veteran, survival guru, or otherwise qualified as an expert on this topic. I should also point out that choosing combat is not for everyone. I'm not sure it's for me. Gung-ho bloodthirstiness from internet keyboard warriors an ocean away from the front lines is all too common. Discretion is the better part of valor, and retreat may be the wisest course of action, in which case a completely different survival kit is in order. In any case, weigh your options and make plans while you can.

20220427_003301.jpg

Let's compare this assemblage to the C's of Survival to see where it may be overkill or deficient based on our use case.

Cutting tool: the Ka-Bar War Sword is a gimmicky "zombie killer" knife, but I have beat the crap out of it batoning firewood. The smaller companion blade is much more useful as a camp knife. For urban guerrilla warfare, though, I might recommend a demolition hammer or an axe instead of a big knife.

Combustion: lighter, matchbook, and magnesium block with ferro rod and striker. This level of redundancy is more suited to wilderness survival than urban warfare, but each option is light and compact, so why not?

Container: lots of options. On each side of the butt pack I have a canteen carrier. Two canteens, a canteen cup, and water purification tabs can be carried that way. I also have a mess kit. Had I not torn apart an MRE pouch to inspect the contents, I would skip this, but it helps contain smaller stuff. I would also consider swapping one canteen for a CamelBak, but I don't own one yet. The entire harness is a network of pouches, and the Ka-Bar sheath has a pouch, too.

Cordage: I have a coil of parachute cord on a carabiner.

Candling: I need to add a headlamp for hands-free illumination. I am thinking about adding a small LED flashlight, too.

Cover: I have a poncho, and I don't expect to need a tent or tarp for this situation. It's not a camping trip. Shelter hopefully abounds in urban warfare.

Compass: a Suunto A-10 in the shoulder strap pouch. I would suggest a good city map be included in your inventory.

Cotton bandana: one wrapped around the compass, and one in the mess kit. Consider using a consistent color as an armband to identify friendly combatants?

Cargo tape: not in this kit yet. I'm not sure which tape would be best. Suggestions?

Canvas needle: not in this kit yet. I should add a needle wrapped in green thread for repairs. Update: done.

Calories: MRE entrees and one of my DIY ration packs. As noted above, I should just throw in a complete MRE pack.

Communication: not included here. Secure communications in a combat environment may be a challenge. Radio signals can be triangulated, betraying your position. Passive receivers might work, and cell networks could be used with encrypted apps if they are up.

Comfort: not a high priority here, but I included a flattened toilet paper roll. I did not include a first aid pouch because I have other plans for a future post on that topic, and have a few more details to work out. I do have a lens cleaning cloth and packaged sanitizing wipes though. Hygiene is high priority.

Clothing: poncho, spare wool socks, and leather work gloves. Wear good boots. Expect broken glass and jagged metal.

Cash: nope. Not essential here.

Special considerations: I included the entrenching tool (folding shovel) because urban combat will likely require digging. Rescue operations, anti-tank trenches, and expedient latrines are just a few possible uses. You may prefer a crowbar, axe, or other tools depending on who else is in your group and what your plan entails.

If you expect combat, don't forget magazines, a cleaning kit, spare parts like an extractor and firing pin, and whatever tools your rifle requires for maintenance. I included a pistol holster on this kit, but a sidearm is low priority compared to the rest. If you're facing a government gun fight, you need a rifle first. Pick the platform that works for you. Train.

20220427_011931.jpg

Speaking of platforms, this kind of web gear setup may not be for everyone, either. However, military surplus tends to be highly forward- and backward-compatible. The ALICE system has roots in the Vietnam War, and was in use until well into the "War on Terror." It has recently been replaced by MOLLE, but the new snap straps as seen on the craptacular airsoft-quality universal holster work with the old web belt. Most gear uses the metal slide keepers commonly known as "ALICE clips." The eyelets in the belt allow compatibility with even older wire hangars, but I don't have an example on hand.

The magazine pouch on the left is clipped to the belt, and the harness suspender is clipped to the pouch. The butt pack is similarly connected. If using web gear without these components, the eyelets on the belt can be used to directly connect suspenders instead, but this system better manages the loads.

If you are outside the US, your options will vary in detail, but will be broadly similar in concept. Surplus web gear can be a versatile option if you are preparing for insurgent warfare against an occupying or invading force. Look to what current or past soldiers used, and adapt it to your purposes. This demonstration is obviously a work in progress. I should add a needle, thread, small LED flashlight, and some of the other small stuff already there to an Altoids tin that will keep it all contained. What else might be needed, or what should be omitted? How does your gear differ? Let's make this a conversation!


468x60-3.png

You'll more likely win just a few Satoshis per hourly spin, but it's an easy way to dip your toes in the Bitcoin ecosystem. Referral link.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center