The road...or the end of it

20200209_151934.jpg

“Dark of the invisible moon. The nights now only slightly less black. By day the banished sun circles the earth like a grieving mother with a lamp.”

- Cormac McCarthy - The Road -



There seems an endless stream of post-apocalyptic books and movies and I've read and seen many of them. I'm one of those men who has the desire for a high level of preparedness for the eventualities of life and am interest in all things around that concept.

That doesn't necessarily mean apocalyptic events, daily life holds many situations in which a person will stand a greater chance at mitigating risk, or the effects of a crisis, with some forethought and preparation: Civil unrest, war, environmental disasters, crime, vehicle and in-home accidents, terrorist-events...the list is endless. Of course, some of those occurrences can be as chaotic and stressful as an apocalyptic event for those subjected to them; consider what a war might be like for those on the ground, for instance.

Preparation

For years I've prepared myself with practical skills and attributes with the goal being the ability to act with a level head in a crisis, think laterally, objectively, with foresight and decisively...and then have the skills and equipment to act as required.

I've built skills in first aid, communications, navigation, wilderness and urban survival and bushcraft, self-defence, escape and evasion, hunting and stalking, shooting at close and long range, four wheel driving, basic mechanics and electrical, negotiation, and a myriad of other skills that will come in handy in a crisis. However one of the most important attributes is the emotional and mental aspect and it's that which many preppers forget, or neglect, to work on.

Desolation

Back a while I read a book called, The Road, by Cormac McCarthy. It's a Pulitzer prize-winning fiction depicting the aftermath of an apocalyptic extinction-event and the journey of a son and his father.

Humans have been all but destroyed by the initial event, lack of food and water and by human's themselves and those remaining are starving and have returned to their base instinctive need; food shelter and warmth. Those who haven't resorted to cannibalism are preyed upon by those who have and as the planet dies, becomes cold, desolate and unliveable, so does any shred of humanity people once had.

It is an incredibly bleak, lawless and disgusting world that the father and son travel through and as they slowly starve to death they swing between wanting to take their own lives rather than be butchered for food and their struggle for life itself.

The bond that exists between the two is the bright spot of the story and the perseverance, emotional and physical strength the father displays is a glimmer of beauty in a world in which the word no longer has a place. You carries the flame, he tells his son, and with that thought they strive and struggle through the desolation of the world and their emotions.

I'll not go into the plot, you'll have to read the book or see the movie if you want to find out, but be prepared for a deep sense of desolation, depression and sorrow; feelings any parent must surely feel if they insert themselves into that situation. You can catch the movie trailer on YouTube here.

Salvation

I've read the book and seen the movie a couple times, the last time only a few days ago, and each time I think the same; would I have what it takes to be that father, to do whatever it takes to survive in that world and, more importantly, would I want to.

I'm not sure of the answer of course, only through being in that situation would I truly know, although I believe I have many of the attributes that would place me in good stead should such events come to pass. As with the aforementioned book, it's a choice, survival; or at least, it's a choice to do what's required to give one the chance to survive, and I made that choice hence my preparation and skill-building.

In a situation such as in the book, there's another way of course, suicide, but that's not my way; at least not now looking at the situation from a great physical and emotional distance...but in that situation above? Again, who knows. I'm a survivor though, and believe I would fight with every fibre of my being until I could do so no longer. It is what the father does in the story above also.

Being prepared, constantly seeking a higher level of knowledge and understanding, skill and equipment around the concepts that will keep me alive and safe in various situations, leaves me with a strong sense of confidence but, in a world as shown in the story I mention above, I believe it would be very easy for any level of preparation to seem pitiful when compared to the pressures of the situation. I prepare nonetheless however, including preparation around the emotional and mental challenges which will be just as difficult to overcome as the physical aspects.

Rumination

I hope you'll go out and read the book or see the movie at least. The movie is depressing, one of the most depressing I have ever seen, and the book takes that to new heights again. I believe it's worthy of a read though, in fact, I believe it's essential reading as it might just jolt a few more people out of their reverie and naïve thoughts that bad things can't happen to them. Bad things happen every day.


Questionation

Now, considering this theme, I have a question for those who feel up to answering:

In an apocalyptic world on a dying planet would you want to fight on no matter how difficult it was or what you had to do for survival? Would you be able to kill for food (animals) or protection (humans), find shelter or safety and how would you cope emotionally through an almost hopeless situation, knowing that getting it wrong could mean a lingering death from starvation, or worse. Would you strive and struggle? Or would you want to end it all quickly by taking your own life and that of those loved ones around you?

Feel free to comment below.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

The image in this post was taken by me.

Note: Questionation is not a word, I made it up.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center