I'm saying goodbye forever

Nothing lasts forever and a person must know when it's time to let go, move on, or to move something one does or possesses on. It's that time for me; I'm saying goodbye...



I don't like getting rid of my guns, I have a solid purpose of use for each of the many I own; but every now and then I consider what I have (so many guns) and weigh up whether any are surplus to my needs - sometimes (rarely) I make a decision to say goodbye to one of them.

I'm saying goodbye to my CZ Shadow 2 9mm semi-automatic handgun.

I've used this gun to compete in IPSC matches, run and gun competitions that simulate military and law enforcement scenarios, and over several years have gained reasonable results at club, inter-club, state and national levels; it's been a lot of fun. I don't know exactly how many times I've drawn this gun from its holster in practice, training and competition but it's many, many thousands of times and over that time the gun has performed flawlessly. It's been reliable and consistent...but it's time to let it go.

The fellow buying it is a new shooter and is paying more than I paid for the handgun when I bought it and I'm selling him some of my 9mm ammunition as well...also at more than it cost me to make, (thanks inflation) so I'm getting a good deal and the guy is getting a good deal as well because he's buying the handgun and ammunition for less than he'd pay elsewhere, thanks again inflation. I'm only selling him 2,000 rounds though, I have other handguns that use 9mm ammunition and I don't like to be caught short of ammunition, one must be prepared right?


I always focus on having exactly what I need when it comes to firearms and if something doesn't fit anymore, isn't being used or has been superseded by something better I've acquired then it's time to say goodbye to it; I'd rather someone get the use out of it than the firearm sit in one of my gun safes unused; I guess I don't see the point in having firearms that sit around collecting dust...and if you think I let my firearms get dusty you're bonkers, it's just a figure of speech.

I have a lot of guns, more than I need if I'm honest, so moving one on makes sense...although there's always a feeling of regret when I do. I'm not feeling that just yet, but when the guy takes it in about a month (he's waiting on paperwork from the government) I'll feel that regret...that's when I find myself looking at replacing it with something else...and the entire process starts again; maybe I already have my eye on something, but that's a whole other post.


What have you sold that you regret selling and did you end up replacing it down the track? Feel free to comment.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

Want a free Hive account? Click Here

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now