FotM March 2022 Kana J’Allu

This is my Kana J’Allu, made by Wayra, Spirit of Wind. It is BY FAR the nicest quena I’ve ever played. You can find Wayra here if you’re interested. - I’m not paid for this endorsement or whatever, woo woo woo.

img_2992.jpg
It’s made from a very unique wood, I’m honestly not sure what type but it almost has a greenish hue in the right light. Whatever wood it is, it’s a very hard wood.

img_2993.jpg
The quena has beautiful markings, presumably laser engraved. I’ve gone back to her store a number of times and never seen these markings a second time. In fact, whenever I go back, the flutes seem to have new markings. I’m not sure if she varies the engravings by year, flute, or some other factor - but I think it’s really cool that she keeps it fluid.

img_2994.jpg
This quena is in the key of G. It plays very easily, and the response is better than most in the higher register.

img_2995.jpg
This is the first quena I’ve ever gotten that had a rounded edge on the mouthpiece. This subtle feature makes playing much more enjoyable. I even rounded my BoliviaMall quenacho like this once I felt how much nicer it was to play. Also, I updated the OG SpiritFlute back at the time when I got this. It’s a small detail, but every quena deserves it :)

I often feel uncomfortable comparing flutes in terms of superlatives - this one being better than that, etc. I think, all flute makers are doing an incredible service to the world and I don’t want to make any one maker feel less than another. But at the same time, these are technical instruments and do have categorical means by which they can be subjectively compared in the name of honest research and information sharing. This Post from @dwinblood exemplifies exactly this difference, particularly when he talks about his experience picking up that Jackson for the first time.
The Kana J’Allu is, this far, my absolute favorite quena, and it’s for all the things described in the above referenced referenced post.

Anyway, that’s my KJ. Thanks for checking it out!

For an indexed view of (most) of my works, don’t forget to check out the Albus Index! Quickly search through my content or browse for what available by topic!

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

img_2455.jpg

Use my Coinbase referral link to get started with Coinbase! I’ll get $10 in Bitcoin but, more importantly, you will get $10 in Bitcoin too!

Here is a post I did recently about using Coinbase with HiveWallet to get Hive in the US. If you’re wanting to buy Hive and are having difficulties, this may be helpful for you!

img_1752.jpg

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency