community
"Hello, my name is Brian Ridgway (Oldschoolzen.)"

Love and Drugs

cb2e96c3_75ae_4af7_abc8_81ec6f7d67ed.jpeg

This is my first post. I have been looking for ways to get my work out there. I wanted to include at least one blockchain based medium. Thank you for reading.

I drowned yesterday
Water felt fine
Cold and grey
Like my mind
I lived
With no regrets
tried to swim
Sunk instead
As my life flashed before I touched bottom
I realized I was lost, not forgotten
Water surrounded me, kept me safe
I felt it around me like a sheet
Somehow it all just faded away
When the flash stopped it began to storm
And somehow, I ended up on shore
My eyes opened, the water came out
I heard screams at heaven, but no sound
I don’t think I’ll ever understand
How I dove in the water, ended up on land
And I felt the rage, fought and died
I’ve fought that war
A thousand times.
I walked a while me, and my ghost
I wasn’t surprised when I got home
Opened the door, and I was alone
My ghost and I sat at the bar
Tears fell, they stung my scars
And was that rain hitting the floor
My ghost frowned, and wailed with the storm
I thought it was breathing with me
Maybe it was all in my head
Woke up sad but certainly not dead
As I looked at the ceiling I realized
I wasn’t alone, my ghost was at my side
I drowned yesterday, but I am fine
I’ve fought that war
A thousand times

-Brian Ridgway

Love and Drugs

This is a cross post of @oldschoolzen/love-and-drugs by @oldschoolzen.

Hello, my name is Brian Ridgway (Oldschoolzen.)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center