IYC Contest 4th - PEACE (Spain)

Hello people!
First I would like to thanks my friend @jelenaa for inviting me to participate in the "Introduce your city community" contest. I did not know this community but I would like to join now and participate in this 4th edition which topic is Symbols and signs for PEACE.

And maybe other friends would like to participate too... @juditka @mystic0601 @winniecorp

After reflecting about what I should show here in my post related to peace, I have made a different choice because it is not so easy. And to begin, I speak talking about a bridge...

It is one of the several bridges that exist in the Spanish city of Valencia, all of them cross a river that is no longer there. There is no river, it did not disappear or dry up, its route was simply diverted outside the city after the tragic flood of 1957 where many people died.
Now in that space there are many things, in addition to sports, recreation and entertainment areas, there is a large park, and in the final area the famous complex of the City of Sciences and Arts, I have already made a post about it and its futuristic views previously. Here that post!

But now we have to think of peace, and I must say that we do not have big mausoleums here, or memorials like I have seen in other places or big graffitis (at least I do not remember any). Yes, some monument was erected or restored with some tribute inscription, but thinking of peace has made me think more of people of peace.

And we return to one of those bridges, the Puente del Real, flanked at one of its ends by two statues, one on each side. One of them is that of the Virgin Mary, and so with the sun illuminating it, it inspires even more. Maybe we should pray for peace, it is so needed, right?

20211104_120147.jpg
#Duvincaphoto

The other is a figure of a saint, San Vicente Mártir.
20211104_120137.jpg
#Duvincaphoto

Vicente was a young deacon martyred in Valencia in the year 304 by order of Emperor Diocletian, who aroused great fervor among the population. He was named patron of the city and, with the passage of time, the events in honor of the martyr were expanded, his festivity is celebrated in the city every January 22. From this figure the current cathedral was built and the city also became a pilgrimage destination.

There should be no martyrs who suffer any kind of violence, neither then nor now... Peace.

And now I also share that peaceful place, with some nice views of the area from that bridge... where to find our own peace too.

20211104_120059.jpg
#Duvincaphoto

20211104_115822.jpg
#Duvincaphoto

Thanks for reading! Have a peaceful day!

bannerflow1.gif

I'M ALSO HERE:
Noise.cash / Read.cash / Publish0x / Odysee

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency