The Silver Stay Puft Marshmallow Man

Back in 1984 I can still remember seeing the first Ghostbusters movie in the theatre when I was a young kid. . It starred comedy greats like Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Rick Moranis, and Harold Ramis. It was such a well done movie even with the limits on technology available in the mid 1980's Then the second movie came along and it really wasn't all that good and the franchise vanished for decades. Harold Ramis died in 2014 essentially ending all hope of a reunion and return of the franchise. Bill Murray wanted nothing to do with the movies until he had a cameo in Afterlife in 2021. Fortunately Ghostbusters: Afterlife resurrected the franchise, and it was a pretty good movie to boot!

I haven't seen the newest movie released yet, but I'll probably watch Frozen Empire when it comes out for free streaming.

Yesterday I was browsing through Apmex.com looking for some new interesting silver or gold products that have become available. I have a habit of checking out the commemorative coins from the nation of Niue because they produce some of the most interesting coins you could ever imagine. Today I had planned on sharing something I picked up locally until I saw this. It was just weird and cool enough that I had to share it. Say hello to the $5 Stay Puft Marshmallow Man!

About the coin:

This is a two ounce solid .999 silver $5 coin from the island nation of Niue. It comes in it's own presentation case in the form of a ghost trap. I kind of wish they had made a non colored version with just silver art, it would have really awesome! They limited mintage to 750 and have just recently gone on sale on Apmex.com for $199. To be honest that's a little more than I would want to pay, but if the franchise continues on for years to come this might become a valuable item. I don't think I'll likely buy one because I have things much higher on my wish list, but this is pretty cool!

I think had they used Slimer the coin could have been really nice. Imagine this guy on a silver non colorized coin with a clear pigment on the ghost and surrounding him that glows in the dark. Now that I don't know if I could resist, but somehow I don't think my opinion is likely to affect their decision making process!


hdqwalls.com

Anyone else have any novel ideas that would have been better?

I hoped you enjoyed seeing the Marshmallow Man coin and my idea for an even better coin. If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions pleas feel free to leave them below. I really do appreciate all of your support, it means a lot to me. Thank you everyone! Have a great Wednesday!

References:

https://www.apmex.com/product/291773/2024-niue-2-oz-silver-5-ghostbusters-stay-puft-marshmallow-man

https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces400178.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghostbusters_(franchise)#Films

Disclaimer:

I'm not a financial advisor and this isn't financial advice, please always do your own research before spending your hard earned money.

If you are interested in precious metals or even want to learn more about them feel free to come join us #silvergoldstackers

I'm a proud member of The Alliance Family!

This is a newer project trying to help new Hive members grow and stay with us here on our platform, feel free to ask if you are interested

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center