What's in the box? A Currency Surprise!

I found this box among my storage items and I was shocked to discover it was full of old collectible coins and currency. I open the box to see what's inside...

I see some mint sets, some various relics... but something caught my eye. A cash fold.

I open it up to discover a nice stash of cash... old and obsolete cash.

On top, I see an old silver certificate, series 1935, stating that there is deposited in the treasury of the United States of America, one dollar in silver payable to the bearer on demand. I'm the bearer, where do I demand my one dollar of silver?

I found the yellow seal particularly interesting. Silver certificates usually have a blue seal.

This particular note (or certificate) is also unusual as it has the modern backing, with the seal of the United States on it, like what we're accustomed seeing today. Most notes have the old design on the back, which I personally find more attractive.

Also notable (ha ha) is the absence of the phrase "In God We Trust" on the back, which is usually in the space above the ONE.

Also interesting is that rather than saying "this note is legal tender" it says "This certificate is legal tender." This is the transition between "certificate" and "note".

There's all sorts of interesting notes in this box, I look forward to displaying more.


image.png

Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of six wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Blockchain enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

image.png

Do You Like Discovering New Content?

ListNerds is a content discovery platform. Members promote content, various products and interesting links. Every click rewards you with MAIL credits to promote whatever content you want to share! If you'd like to learn more, visit Listnerds.com

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center