Two Morgan Silver Dollars ~ 1885-o, 1882-s

When I was a kid I enjoyed collecting coins. Back in those days it was mainly common change or variations on common coins. My biggest discovery was a 1909-S penny which I found in pocket change. It was pretty dirty and beat up, so I doubt it would have gone for the high prices the price-guides told me, but I was always very happy with it anyway. I also had some steel pennies and some other misc coins I enjoyed.

I suppose all my coins are still packed up at my parent's house in the States, but I actually have no idea.

Anyway, in the years since moving to Japan I haven't really thought much about the hobby. I have occasionally glanced in at the coin store in the mall here and admired the old Japanese coins (and bills), but haven't moved to collect any.

I've been enjoy @trumpman's coin posts lately and that's made me think fondly about this topic. I don't really have the time or extra money to jump back in, but I'm enjoying it from afar.

Or at least I was enjoying it from afar.

The other day, I was talking to my dad about it and he mentioned that he bought me two silver dollars some years ago and hasn't gotten around to giving them to me.

I didn't ask him what he paid, so I have no idea if it was a good buy or not, but at least from the photos he sent they appear to be in pretty good condition.

img_4595.jpg

img_4596.jpg

Looks like these are 90% silver. Sweet! Were these common coins back in the day to carry around or were they things to hold on to if you received them?

Anyway I guess I'm still kind of in this hobby after all!



banner.png


Hi there! David LaSpina is an American photographer and translator lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time and searching for the perfect haiku.

If this blog post has entertained or helped you, please follow/upvote/reblog. If you want to further support my writing, donations are welcome.

  • BTC: 1Gvrie5FDBNBb6YpGBiaTvA5AyvsP814BN
  • ETH: 0x2Ce5c2b5F3f1a888b50A7bA9002E4F742784dF9c
  • LTC: LUVLvatsFqCubrJAVmCNQaoUdFAdnUCysU
  • BCH: qrzdazep5xfxax0ydppun89cxfts2vup9q4wnfn025
  • Dash: XoGzWrhdgbLKBG5kn4GjWfaJDJ6AWkDiqU
  • H2
    H3
    H4
    3 columns
    2 columns
    1 column
    10 Comments
    Ecency