About David LaSpina, v1.2

An American Photographer Lost in Japan



About Me

Photography is my passion and my primary source of income. In addition to photography, I do translation and have published many articles on haiku. I enjoy reading about the history of Japan and places I visits within, amazing locals with my bad Japanese[1] and enjoyment of natto,[2] exploring the countryside by bike, and spending entirely too much time trying to level up my matcha-making skills.

Interested in more? Go read my Steemit Intro Post from way back when (now linking to Hive version).

Also of interest:

Location

Okazaki Japan, where I have lived for many years. I am originally from Muncie Indiana, where I visit at least once a year and may someday return to.

Interestingly, although Muncie and Okazaki are both small, they are both somewhat famous and well-known, Okazaki for being the birthplace of Tokugawa Ieyasu[3] and Muncie for being considered the average American city, a series of sociological studies over the years based on this idea, and a generic small-town city name often used in Hollywood.

Funny enough, the largest and most academically impressive high school in Okazaki has an exchange program with a high school in Muncie, and they trade a handful of students twice a year. I had no idea about this program until recently. What a coincidence that I end up here, eh?

Contact Info

david.laspina@gmail.com

I have to warn you that I'm often bad at responding to email, but I do read all I get and will do my best to reply if a response is needed. You can help your chances of being seen by including a good subject line, perhaps with "Hive" somewhere in there.

You might have better luck reaching me on Twitter at dbooster. I don't really use Twitter much, but I do have it on my phone with notifications turned on, so I will see if you Tweet at me.

If you are lucky, you may also catch me on Discord where I am "dbooster" on several servers.

. . .

This is the third version of this about page with some updates and corrections, hence the 1.2 in the title. If such things interest you, here is the the first version and the second version.

Anyway, thank you all for reading and enjoying my content, and I hope you find this post useful.


  1. Me: 寿司神風富士山日本一 (random gibberish learned from playing "Mike Tyson’s Punch Out")
    Them: おお!日本語上手ですね! (literal translation: Your Japanese is so good! Actual meaning: I have no idea what you said but am too polite to hurt your feelings. Now please go away and stop talking to me before this becomes awkward for us both.)

  2. Food of the gods. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

  3. The once and future ruler of Japan. (wiki link)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency