Gold mining in Nigeria

Nigerian is blessed with mineral resources and people from different ethnic groups. Gold, silver, diamond, iron ore, oils, gas and many more are found in Nigeria from different states .
I was home on Saturday and my elder brother took me on a bike and his friend to his inlaws village. I learned about gold diggers that night and we took a walk out to find out ourselves were and how they are mining gold in the village.
Eventually before getting to the field that night I saw flashed lights every were, so I scurry to witness for myself. I noticed high cost of food items at the gold mining field. A bread that cost #120 was sold for me at #200, Super pack indomie that cost #120 was sold to me at #170. Everything there is costly and is because of the price of gold that causes inflation of food items.
IMG_20210605_222858_104.jpg

The next day as we were about leaving back to town we stop by to actually see what was done in the dark. This mining is done without survey of the ground if the gold will be found but what they did is to dug using digger and shovel and a gold machine detector will check the sand been dug out if there is presence of gold, diamond, silver and metal,
IMG_20210602_140004.jpg

This manual form of mining is not an easy task for both men and women and getting this gold is a luck. Some have spend days digging and nothing yet but some will dig once and get golds worth millions or thousands but I believe you never get tired of searching for fortune and firm, the more you feel weaker the stronger your soul struggle to prove self wrong.
IMG_20210606_095522.jpg

Women are really into this business of gold digging and 90% around the village go to the field and wash the sands been dug out by men which gold detector machine couldn't detect well or was not scanned. Few women dig the ground in search of gold.
IMG_20210606_100852.jpg

IMG_20210606_100833.jpg
This is a very big land as you can see. I decided to take a selfie of myself.
IMG_20210606_100255.jpg
This is one of the machine they use in detecting gold in the area. My brother and his friend are asking him questions on how to use the instrument and its cost.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center