Finishing Touch to the Kennedy Silver Half Dollar Proofs

In my first post to the SGS community I posted about how I started putting together a collection of Kennedy Silver Half Dollar proofs.

The first year a proof was issued was 1964 and the content was 90% silver. Another silver proof was not minted until 1968. From 1968-1970 they are 40% silver. Then the mint skipped making silver proofs again until the U.S. Bicentennial in 1976 with a 40% silver content. The mint didn't produce another silver proof again until 1992.

From 1992 until 1998 the silver content of the proofs was 90%. In 2019 the silver proof content increased to 99.9% and remains to this day.

Most of the modern Kennedy silver proofs were minted in San Francisco and have the famaliar "S" mint mark...except one. The 2014-W Reverse Proof 50th Anniversary edition. This particular coin was minted at the West Point mint.

IMG-1768.jpg
Image Source taken with iPhone is from my collection.

HiveDivider.png

The 2014-W Silver Reverse Proof Kennedy Half Dollar was part of a four coin set commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Kennedy half dollar. The Kennedy half dollar was first minted in 1964. The set included all 90% silver coins including the 2014-W Silver Reverse Proof.

The US Mint originally set a limit of 300,000 sets. After 85,000+ sets sold the first day - this limit was reduced to 225,000 - which is roughly the final mintage of each special coin as this highly popular set sold out completely source.

IMG-1769.jpg
Image Source taken with iPhone is from my collection.

HiveDivider.png

Well, as of Friday my collection is complete with this beauty. It was the last silver proof I had to get my hands on through 2022. Of course next year I will have to pick up a 2023 proof to keep the set going, if I choose.

I am thinking heavily on going for the gusto and looking at the gold 50th Anniversary edition as well. However it carries a very hefty price going at around $1,800 USD to $2,900 USD depending on the proof grade.

IMG-1770.jpg
Image Source taken with iPhone is from my collection.

HiveDivider.png

The gold version may have to wait though as I have other type sets I am working like the type set of commemoratives. Frankin Halves may be the next in my wheel house, but I am not sure yet. I have a few other irons in the fire right now.

IMG-1771.jpg
Image Source taken with iPhone is from my collection.

HiveDivider.png

If you have any further information about this coin you would like to add, like historical information I left out or want to correct any I may have gotten wrong, please drop it in the comments.

Thanks,
Joe

HiveDivider.png

100% of this post’s rewards goes to the @vetfunding account which supports veterans worldwide on Hive. Don't forget to invest in CAV token to help Veterans around the world get their needs met.

mvh4.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center