1920 Maine Centennial Commemorative

Here we have another commemorative from my collection. It is a 1920 Maine Centennial Statehood commemorative. It was minted at the U.S. Philadelphia mint in commemoration of the 100th birthday of Maine's statehood.

I had a hard time finding this one a decent condition at a good price, but I did. I picked this one up at the same time I did a couple of others, like the 1920 Pilgrim I shared a few days ago.

reference.jpg
Image Source is from my CoinSnap App

Above I have shared a reference image of one in what is most likely MS condition like I usually do with most of my posts so you have something to always compare what I share to. You will notice that the detail is not all that good even in the higher quality of these coins. I am putting mine at about AU to a lower MS. Most likely AU. What are your thoughts?

Below is the seal of Maine, which is also on the obverse of the coin. So I thought I would share it so you have something to compare it to as well.

maine.jpg
Image Source

HiveDivider.png

OBVERSE
The obverse has the seal of Maine centered on the coin. UNITED STATES OF AMERICA is across the top, while HALF DOLLAR is across the bottom.

obverse.jpg
Image Source taken with iPhone is from my collection.

HiveDivider.png

REVERSE
The reverse has a pine wreath with MAINE CENTENNIAL 1820-1920 centered inside the wreath. LIBERTY is centered across the top of the wreath. The Latin phrase E PLURIBUS UNUM (Out of Many, One) is centered across the top of the coin. IN GOD WE TRUST is centered across the bottom of the coin.

reverse.jpg
Image Source taken with iPhone is from my collection

HiveDivider.png

SPECS

specs.jpg
Image Source is from my CoinSnap App

HiveDivider.png

If you have any further information about this coin you would like to add, like historical information I left out or want to correct any I may have gotten wrong, please drop it in the comments.

Thanks,
Joe

HiveDivider.png

100% of this post’s rewards goes to the @vetfunding account which supports veterans worldwide on Hive. Don't forget to invest in CAV token to help Veterans around the world get their needs met.

mvh4.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center