1915 Panama-Pacific Exposition Commemorative Half Dollar

Getting back to my commemorative type set today. I just added this one recently to the collection. It is the 1915 Panama-Pacific Exposition Commemorative Half Dollar.

From February 20 to December 4, 1915, San Francisco, California, United States, hosted the Panama-Pacific International Exposition. Its claimed objective was to commemorate the Panama Canal's completion.

Panama_pacific_poster.jpg
Source

The legislation for a silver half dollar, a gold dollar, a quarter eagle ($2.50 piece), and two $50 coins—one round and one octagonal—was approved by Congress in January 1915 for commemoration.

HiveDivider.png

ref.jpg
Image Source is from my CoinSnap App

Above is reference image from CoinSnap that you can compare to the one from my collection further below.

There was around 200K authorized to be minted, but net distribution was just over 27K after most were melted down. They are 90% silver and weigh 12.5 grams.

Finding this particular commem in this condition for the price I did was very difficult. I pulled it off for half of what I think the numismatic value is. I am placing this at around XF to AU condition. If you want to try it against @silverd510's grading scale he shared and give me your take, let me know your thoughts.

HiveDivider.png

OBVERSE

A full length figure of the allegorical Columbia with rays of the sun and the Golden Gate in the background. Her arms are outstretched to scatter fruits and flowers. A cherub appears to her right holding a cornucopia.Source

obverse.jpg
Image Source taken with iPhone is from my collection.

HiveDivider.png

REVERSE

An American Eagle with wings outstretched, perched on a shield. An oak branch and olive branch appears to each side to represent strength and peace.Source

reverse.jpg
Image Source taken with iPhone is from my collection

HiveDivider.png

SPECS

specs.jpg
Image Source is from my CoinSnap App

HiveDivider.png

If you have any further information about this coin you would like to add, like historical information I left out or want to correct any I may have gotten wrong, please drop it in the comments.

Thanks,
Joe

HiveDivider.png

50% of this post’s rewards goes to the @vetfunding account which supports veterans worldwide on Hive. Don't forget to invest in CAV token to help Veterans around the world get their needs met.

mvh4.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center