2018 1/4oz Gold Proof Sovereign / Reblog lottery

I like Sovereigns. The design is very iconic and done well. The only problem is they're not very common in the US compared to Europe. Much like 8 Reales and Krugerrands, everyone who knows anything about gold knows at least what a Sovereign is.

I picked this up in the Inflation Mitigation Lounge after some of the regular Sovereigns that went up for sale got snatched up quickly. The owner messaged me and offered me this since he knew how much I wanted one. It's one of the reasons I rarely shop anywhere else.

Obverse(Source)

This is technically considered the obverse. It's your standard portrait of Elizabeth II. This really doesn't change much, although I prefer the earlier portraits of her you see.

Reverse(Source)

This is the part I like. It features St. George on horseback, slaying a dragon. This iconic design was created by Benedetto Pistrucci in 1817 and has been featured on this coin ever since.

Specifications
Grade: Proof
Weight: 1/4 Troy ounce
Purity: .916
Diameter: 13.5mm

I've not had luck identifying this particular coin. My dealer got it in a wholesale deal without a display box or certificate. It lacks the crown mark to the left of the date, underneath St. George, that the other proofs have. The mintage for that year was 2500 coins, so I'd imagine it's around that. Despite my phone camera picking up all my fingerprints off the air tite, the finish is truly a proof finish. Regardless of the mintage, I'm happy to have it in my stack.

Each month, I give away a $1 Goldback or 4 HBD. The winner gets to choose.
Note: Some countries may have prohibitively expensive shipping or delivery, which may not be feasible. I reserve the right to award the winner 4 HBD instead of a Goldback at my discretion.

Not sure what a goldback is? Click here to find out more about them.

How The Reblog Lottery Works

  1. Follow me. (If you're not a follower, you won't be entered into the drawing)
  2. Look for "Reblog lottery" in any of my post titles.
    Make sure it's for the current contest month, and is 6 days old or less, and click "Reblog".
    (Reblogging an older post will not get you an entry)
  3. An upvote is appreciated but not required, and does not give you additional entries.
  4. You'll get one entry for each qualifying article you reblog this way.
  5. At the end of the month I'll enter your name into the drawing and pick a winner at random.
    Note: Bots are not eligible to win
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now