The SGS Meetup as an Institution

For the last 3 years SGS has had a real world meetup in Las Vegas each March to coincide with a Coin Show. I personally have not been able to attend one yet, but I have always enjoyed seeing the pictures and hearing the (wild) stories that come from these events. While I hope to get to an SGS meetup one day and may never be able to, I do consider the SGS meetup to be a really important community event for us to have on the yearly calendar.


Source

In the past the main man behind pulling this awesome event together has been the SGS Legend @summertooth and yesterday he’s put out an important post about Passing the SGS meetup-planning torch. If you haven’t read that post then please do. There’s also been a follow up post from another SGS Legend and meetup regular @silverd510 about a potential Silvergoldstackers Meet up 2025. In summary - The conversation about the future of the meetup is happening right now so if you’ve ever been, or hope to go one day, now is the time to speak up!

For me personally, I definitely don’t want to see the SGS Meetup die out. I do consider it an institution and a tradition that is really important for SGS. I love the idea of Las Vegas, but I acknowledge that it might get a bit old for some of the regular attendees and if the meetup moved around to different locations that could be cool too. I recently joked that I’d host the next meetup here in Australia, but I think that would be so expensive for everyone that it’d be a total flop and I don’t want that to happen!

Whatever SGS comes up with I will support, of course. I’d just like to encourage everyone to get involved in the conversation. Even if you don’t think you can get there, its important to show some support and interest because you never know! I still fantasize about the year when HIVE moons and we all can get there to celebrate. Put it on your Bucket List if you haven’t already….

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments