Turning Beneficiaries into a More Powerful Feature

RaNP.jpg

Currently if you see something interesting on Steem and want to share it you only have one option in terms of features specifically built for that, which is the "Resteem". A resteem is cool, it can definitely be beneficial to you as an author, but I think there are more powerful options that Steem is capable of doing that we should take advantage of.

Quoting myself from a previous post:

What Steem has now, is a ton of functionality. But it's severely lacking in "features". To define those in the context that I'm using...

  • A Functionality is something the blockchain has the capability of doing.
  • A Feature is a functionality implemented into something a user engages with that hopefully gives them a positive user experience and solves some problem for them.

For each functionality, you can have several features. ie different ways of doing the same thing.

Some very powerful functionalities of the Steem blockchain are

  • Upvotes
  • Direct Transfers
  • Beneficiary System
  • Delegation

One of the ways I've been trying to make my Community OnChainArt a better place is by sharing old, long dead, but very high in quality posts called the #steemartarchives. I set the artists featured in these posts to 100% beneficiaries which of course not only shares this artwork to a new set of eyes, but also rewards these artists for posts that were no longer eligible for rewards.

It hasn't taken long for me to realize that this is extremely powerful and I think worth turning into a feature to incentivise users to share content in this way.

I think one of the issues with Steem is the 7 day payout period. I get that it's necessary, but I've always thought that it doesn't really make sense from the outside looking in. Once someone posts their content on the Steem blockchain, that content is now a blockchain resource FOREVER, not for seven days. If I created my own frontend three years from now, and cherrypicked my favorite posts, then monetized that frontend through ads, that content is still creating value. That's just one example, but the general idea is that content doesn't stop providing value to the blockchain after seven days. I think this can and should be addressed.

So what I'm suggesting is something that would essentially be "Resteem as New Post". So maybe when you click the "Resteem" button you get a modal window with two options.

Resteem this Post or Resteem as New Post with short descriptions of what each one does. This way the user doesn't need to have it explained to them what beneficiaries are. They will be introduced to it without having to understand what it is or how it works.

This would also address the 7 day payout problem, while also incentivising sharing on Steem which I think needs to have a larger push in regards to the UX here. When people have a reason to share the best content, regardless of payout status, there is a better chance that the best content on the blockchain will remain visible forever as well as being rewarded as long as it's creating value.

I think this makes a bit more sense and would make Steem more attractive for creators whose content doesn't "spoil with time". Like if you post about crypto prices, or news, it makes sense that that content have it's moment in the sun then fades away, but if you're an artist, musician, video content creator etc. Only having 7 days to monetize your content is a shitty sell.

This in conjunction with Tips/Donations I think would dramatically improve the user experience on Steem.

What do you all think?

#steempeak
#peakreview
As I think this would be relevant to you all as well.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center