Hive in the shadows

Good day to you all here on hive photo community. It’s a pleasure to be here again today. Another wonderful and amazing period of the year. It’s always amazing to witness this season full of greetings, love and memories.

I am here again with my entry for the contest which is all about drawing the hive symbol out of our creativity. Many times I have thought of what to make for the entry. I have thought of drawing them on the soil or even molding them with clay. But all those didn’t work out fine. Then I decided to go to make it come out of the shadows.

How have I done that?

You can just follow my steps and see how it went through. It looks so easy but it took me hours before I could complete it.

MATERIALS

  • A BOX OF CARTON
  • PENCIL
  • RAZOR BLADE
  • RULER
  • FLASH LIGHT

THE PROCESS

STEP 1: I got a thick carton and then unboxed it to a flat surface.


STEP 2: After unboxing it, I got my pencil and a blade. I made sure the pencil is well sharpened then I got the image sample and made a sketch on the carton.


STEP 3: After getting the sketch on it, the next thing was to carve out the hive design from the carton. At this point care must be taken because if the razor mistakenly cuts the carton beyond the sketch then it has to be started all over again. I traced it carefully and then cut out the hive design from it.


STEP 4: The last step was to get a flashlight. I intentionally had to do this at night time so I would be able to get a hold of the shadow clearly. I placed the flash light somewhere above the traced sketch then I placed the sketch on a surface a little lower than the light and then the shadows formed up from the ray of light.



That’s all for my design. Thank you…

To participate in the entry you can click HERE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments