Comparing Gaming Photography settings

I started doing Gaming Photography because games are unique, they offer a different view or setting to look at and explore. I try and keep my Gaming Photography to Multiplayer open world type games because a lot of the action shots and experiences captured usually only occur in a setting where people are doing their own thing. Single Player games are beautiful but it feels like cheating. Set photography versus Real World Photography has such a different feeling. Set photography, from my experience, are for highlighting people or a product, maybe an aspect of something that can only be shown in a controlled area. It's cool to work with all the tools but the process gets 'stale' after several hours of doing it.

The set photography is designed to look amazing because of the lighting, background, filters, and other things that can be edited or altered while the focus target stays in the spot. It looks great but doesn't capture 'The Moment' that satisfies.

Event photography is more my preference but those player definitive moments are hard to capture in a single player game. 'The moment's are meant to blow the player away the first time but are a novelty every other time. The aspect of multiplayer adds a hint of randomness along with moments of awesome that may occur along with great photo moments. I strive to capture these moments because its not 'set', it's not 'perfect', it is just a screen capture of that moment in time in a game where players are doing their best to play the game and beat the odds. It is explosions, lighting, setting, so many forces outside of my control that catch my eye and make me want to capture what is happening.

That is my goal as a gaming photographer. I want to showcase settings, players, and moments in a multiplayer world where the viewer can see and explore on their own time with no doubt that it isn't there, because it's on a multiplayer game on a server in a world for them to visit.

I had taken a bit of a break from playing games and posting on Hive but I am ready to start back up!

Here are some screen captures showcasing the photo mode in Space Marine 2 and a glitch from Hunt Showdowns big engine update along with an actual setting photo.

Space Marine Photo Mode.jpg

Space Marine Photo mode 2.jpg

Hunt Glitch.jpg

Hunt Moonlight Newmap.jpg

Can't wait to get back and show off more Gaming Photography.

Thanks for viewing1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center