Up Close & Personal: How Desert Dragon Dominated the Arena

Hello, how are you all doing, Splinterlands warriors? I’ve dived back into the world of Splinterlands, joining the social media challenge, this time hoping to master battles with more complex rules.

As usual, I came prepared with strategies and expectations. But what caught my attention this time was the particularly challenging ruleset: Up Close & Personal and When Doesn't Kill You. This means I could only use monsters with melee attacks, and even then, I had to work within a very limited mana cap. Just imagine having to choose strong and efficient monsters with such limited options!

I decided to rely on Desert Dragon as my main pillar. Why? Because of its ability to pierce through the opponent’s shield. With its Trample ability, Desert Dragon can crush opponents one by one if it manages to defeat its target. With the remaining 3 mana points, I added Uraeus, the venomous snake, with its poison ability. Even though the combo was simple, it felt like the best choice given the limited conditions of the battle.

As the battle began, I quickly realized that my opponent wasn’t playing around. They came with a lineup of max-level monsters, despite their low mana cost. There was Zenith Monk with its self-healing ability, Scorch Fiend who could weaken my melee attacks with its Demoralize skill, Gobalano Soldier with its swift strikes, the opponent’s Uraeus with poison, and Radiates Scorches as backup. I felt a bit anxious as they seemed prepared to crush my simple strategy.

The first round went by quickly. Scorch Fiend hit me with the Demoralize effect, weakening my team’s attack power. Gobalano Soldier immediately attacked my Uraeus with a quick strike. Shortly after, the enemy’s Uraeus took down my Uraeus with a sneak attack. By the end of the first round, only Desert Dragon remained on my side, facing five enemy monsters. Honestly, at this point, I thought my chances of winning were slim, but I decided not to give up.

Then, a miracle happened. Desert Dragon, now my only hope, started to show its teeth. With its Trample attack, it began taking down enemy monsters one by one. It started with Zenith Monk, who had a self-healing ability, then took out the bothersome Scorch Fiend with its Demoralize. Next, Desert Dragon swept away Gobalano Soldier and the opponent’s Uraeus. Finally, only Radiates Scorches remained, helpless against Desert Dragon’s final strike. In an instant, the enemy monsters that once dominated the arena fell one by one.

For the full battle replay, you can watch it here:

👉 LINK BATTLE 👈

Battle Reflection

That moment felt like a small miracle amidst uncertainty. From being at a disadvantage, surrounded by an army of seemingly more prepared monsters, Desert Dragon turned into a savior. This victory was truly unexpected and reminded me of one of the game’s core principles: never give up until the final round. The power of Desert Dragon’s attacks, which could pierce through enemy defenses, really turned the tide of the battle.

What I learned from this battle is the importance of understanding each monster’s unique abilities and using them effectively according to the ruleset. Although it felt like a gamble to go with just two monsters at the start, it turned out to be the right strategy. Relying on powerful forces in a battle with limited choices, and how I maximized Desert Dragon’s abilities, made this victory feel even sweeter.

Playing Splinterlands is like an adventure, full of unexpected moments and challenges that make me think more deeply about strategy. And yes, this battle served as a reminder of how thrilling this game can be when a simple strategy turns into an epic win.

Talk about Splinterlands,
If you haven't tried out this fantastic game called Splinterlands yet, I invite you to Join.
It's free, but you'll need to invest in a beginning deck or buy gaming cards to gain real assets like cards and tokens.


If you already joined the splinterlands, and are looking for a place to grow. We need YOU. We are a chill, social guild looking for a few more active members! If you think you might be a fit, join us in our Discord

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center