Weekly Battle Challenge: Retaliate & Nectar Queen

Peace Dear Splinters,

My battle challenge this week is going to display the ability of retaliation in action on the field. I have the choice to select neutral, fire, or earth elemental monsters with the retaliate ability, well experience to fight in the gold league. The ruleset was also a major factor in the process of selection of the team for this challenge. Nectar Queen was finally my choice in the first position in the battle with rules defined by Holy protection and Reverse speed.

--

retaliate_project.jpeg

--

I summoned Daria Dragonscale while my opponent brought Mother Khala into the arena. Dragon elemental associated with the earth elemental fought intensively the life elemental monsters which described great courage. The holy protection offered divine shield to all monsters. This advantage gave Nectar Queen the possibility to return any melee attack from the opponent monsters in the first position at the beginning of this match.

--

image.png

Retaliate Ability: When hit with a Melee attack, Monsters with Retaliate have a chance (50%) of attacking their attacker.

Nectar queen has flying and retaliate abilities at level seven. I had a large mana cap allowing me to select powerful monsters but synchronized according to this battle ruleset.

Unlike most queen bees, Nectar Queens like to get out of the nest and get their Proboscis dirty. Fortunately, you can hear one coming long before it reaches you. Unfortunately, they have a real taste for blood.

image.png|image.png

Battle Ruleset: Holy Protection, Reverse speed, and Mana cap 99

I have displayed below the details about this BATTLE, my entry for the weekly CHALLENGE.

Here comes the lineup from both teams present on the battlefield

First, my opponent lineup had cards from the Life elemental series combined as follow:

Summoner: Mother Khala level 1

mother_khala.png

* Goblin Mech level 1

* Sand Worm level 1

* Spirit Miner level 1

* Bila the Radiant level 1

* Prismatic Energy level 1

* Evangelist level 1

The process of selection is mainly done considering the ruleset. The probability that the opponent outsmarts your strategy brings supplement stress to avoid if you are going to prove yourself in the arena. I made sure that the Nectar Queen and Gelatinous Cube were positioned right at the proper place in my lineup.

--

daria_dragonscale.png

Summoner: Daria Dragonscale level 5, boost all melee monsters with one point attack melee.

--

The description of my lineup

nectar_queen.png

* Flying and retaliate abilities

gelatinous_cube.png

* Gelatinous Cube level 7 - Ability Scavenger, Heal It was our bunker in this defensive strategy. I expected Cube to slow down the enemy wage of strikes in these conditions of combat.

* Heal and divine shield

* Sneak and snare

* Return fire, repair

* Flying and opportunity

--

The lineup of both teams was imbalanced giving much advantage to my leveled-up monsters over my opponent's monsters. My opponent monsters did well despite the presence of powerful monsters on the other side of the board.

image.png

My strategies

Nectar Queen in the first position should have brought more offensive power to my team but it was not the case. After two rounds Nectar Queen was defeated and Gelatinous Cube did an amazing job holding the front line. My opponent's magic strikes were deadly but the Cube was healing as fast as we all know. Sand Worm and dragon jumper were my back plan in case the Nectar queen failed in the first step of this strategy. I have to mention that I didn't realise that my monster's speed was too high for this battle where the ruleset was clear, monsters with the lowest speed attack first then have the highest chance to evade attacks. My opponent presented for this battle a better combination of cards.

image.png

Did my strategy work?

Yes, my strategy partially worked in the sense that the Gelatinous Cube saved all my team at the right time. However, my adversary lineup was very well-planned in accord with the ruleset. I won in this example because the abilities of my cards unlocked for high-level monsters.

--

battle1.pngbattle3.png

If you are interested in the current contest, please get more information concerning the battle challenge shared on a specific theme Retaliate, Splinterlands Weekly battle challenge

--

What will I try differently next time?

I will definitely associate Daria with many water elemental monsters with low speed so I gain the advantage in striking orders.

--

battle2.png

Do I often play with the retaliate ability? why or why not

Nectar Queen is my favorite monster equipped with the retaliate ability. When battle rulesets are displayed and I make my choice to play with earth elemental, I select in the front Nectar Queen not only because this monster can evade enemies attack but it can also return full fire when melee attack damage its heart points.

What other abilities do you use with it?

I like to boost the flying and retaliate ability of my Nectar Queen with some healing from Wood Nymph tank healing and strengthen.

image.png

battleend.png

I am thankful for the battle challenge curation team that gives us an opportunity to present our strategies around a specific monster in action on board. This battle team selection was done only under the unlimited mana cap offered in the ruleset. This decision impacted the performance of my lineup on the board even though it was a victory for my team. Thanks for reading my Battle challenge on retaliation. You are welcome to spend more time on my blog.

More about Splinterlands on the official telegram group Splinterlandstelegram

You can participate in many more events organized by Splinterlands community members, but also share your own journey on Hive.

We invite you, dear readers to share with us in the comment section whatever suggestions or questions you would like to ask.

You are interested in playing Splinterlands and have no account yet, click on the link below to start your exploration of this exciting board game.

Check-in for free here my referral links

Warm regards

--

src1 |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency