My Weekly Battle Mage Secrets - Rise of the Commons

image.png


diablo_divider_non_fig2.png


Overview

The new Weekly ruleset Challenge is an amazing twist that I am enjoying so far and I hope there will be twists like that in the future to keep this Challenge's fresh. 😁

This week the ruleset is the Rise of the Commons, which means that only common and rare units may be used in battles, so the Epic and Legendary monsters will be banned.

Luckily summoners are unaffected by this rule. 😉


The upcoming Battle ruleset

image.png

RulesetDescription
Close RangeRanged attacks may be used in the first position in battles.
Briar PatchAll monsters have the Thorns ability.
Rise of the CommonsOnly Common and Rare Monsters may be used in battles.

The mana cap for my next battle was 24, which is not much, but I couldn't use any Epic and Legendary monsters, so that helps a bit, because usually they tend to cost more.

The Rise of the Commons ruleset is a bit annoying, because it heavily limits my options to choose from. At least the Close Range was a bit of a help for me, because I could use my ranged attack monsters from the first position as well.

Using only ranged and magic attack monsters might be a better idea as well, because all the monsters will have the Thorns ability, which means when a melee attack monster hit a monster his target will deal damage back to the attacker. 😁


diablo_divider_non_fig2.png

My lineup

image.png
Thaddius Brood is one of the best Summoner in the Death Splinter, because he reduces the magic damage and health to all of his enemy monsters and he cost only 4 mana. He is also quite cheap to rent compared to other Summoners from different Splinters*. I like him a lot, because he counters one of the strongest attack type in this game, but unfortunately he lacks the ability to Heal their own monsters. 😜
Wily Coyotian is one of the new reward monster from the daily loot chests and I was lucky to collect a gold foil version of him. He is a low mana monster costin only 2 mana, so he is a perfect low cost tank to stall the time until my team will do their damage. He has the Phase ability, so he is able to dodge the magic attacks as well not just the melee or ranged attacks. 😊
image.png
image.png
The Riftwing is my main tank for this battle, because he has quite a lot of speed and health to sustain and dodge a lot of attacks. He doesn't have any attack, so the Thorns damage will not affect him at all, but he also has the Backfire ability, which means when a monster misses the Riftwing they will take 2 damage back. The Scavenger ability will allow the Riftwing to gain 1 max health each time any monster dies. 😁
The Life Sapper is an interesting creature and he reminds me of the old school Vampires, because of his Life Leech ability, which is increases his health each time he damages an enemy monster health in proportion to the damage dealt. This ability is amazing, because it allows the Life Sapper to stay in battle for a longer period of time and continually damaging the enemy monsters. The bad news is that he doesn't have too much damage even if you level him up he will reach a maximum magic damage of 2. 😅
image.png
image.png
The Venari Spellsmith doesn't have too much damage, but at least it is magic. His most important role in this battle is to Amplify the reflected damages on the enemy monsters by one. He cost only four mana, so he was an easy fit into my team. 😆
The Ravenhood Warden is also one of the new reward card and he helps a lot for any kind of Death team, because usually they are lacking of any kind of defensive or protective abilities. Luckily he gives +2 armor to all of his friendly monsters, which might be enough to block one or two attacks for each of my monsters. His +2 ranged damage also quite good, which will be needed to kill my opponent monsters. 😉
image.png
image.png
The Soul Strangler is a low cost ranged attack creature and he is my main damage dealer. He comes really handy in low mana battles or in the Little League ruleset. He has 2 attack damage, which is huge from a creature of 3 mana cost and on his Level 3 it will further increased to 3. His only disadvantage is his low health, but if my oppoenent doesn't bring any Sneak or Opportunity monster he will be fine till the end of the battle. 😇

diablo_divider_no3_death_top.png

The Battle

image.png

Please click on the picture if you want to see the replay of the battle.

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqrAP9TBG3ngbmQff8XmGHioYU3At33cTpyHohG4z2ZWA19cNAtQpXz8JTL2Eth5Vxc1U3ozJdzUmyRRsLcmFgYoQ2JHa18eEtgZCjy2QR4hqU22 (1).png

My opponent brought Octavia Shadowmeld who gives -1 health to all of my monsters like Thaddius, but she will be able to use one Gladiator card in her lineup, which is pretty scary. 🙃

He picked the Whistling Damon as a Gladiator card, which has the Bloodlust ability, so if he kills a monster he will increase his own stats by one. His Gelatinous Cube also pretty strong, because he has a lot of health and the self Heal ability. This battle would be really difficult for me.

In the first round we killed his first two weak monster, but his Venari Marksrat had the Martyr ability, so he increased the stats of his Cube. 😅

In the second round both of us tanks fell into the first position, but my opponent had a much stronger tank than mine especially with his Heal ability.

image.png

My team dealt a huge amount of damage against his Cube and luckily they managed to kill him by the end of the fourth round. 😇

My opponent ranged monsters with their low health started to fell into the frist position and my team started killing them one by one within one round and they got the Victory for me. 👏

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqrAP9TBG3ngbmQff8XmGHioYU3At33cTpyHohG4z2ZWA19cNAtQpXz8JTL2Eth5Vxc1U3ozJdzUmyRRsLcmFgYoQ2JHa18eEtgZCjy2QR4hqU22 (1).png

Battle Result

image.png

Did your strategy work? What will you try differently next time?

My strategy worked as I intended even thought his tank was way stronger than mine, but luckily their speed difference meant a lot. Also his Gladiator monster had the Snipe ability, so he targeted my Life Sapper who was able to leech life in every round to protect himself against it. 😁

diablo_divider_no3_death_bottom.png

I like to help new players 😉, so if you are just starting this game and you can use my referral link to sign-up, write me a message on Discord (LordDiablooo#3750), so I will send you 100 DEC and few key cards (delegated for an entire season) to kick off your career in Splinterlands. 😊


If you would like to use some of my dividers I have created for your blog feel free to use them following this link. 😉


Thank you so much 🙏 that you took the time to read my Weekly Battle Challenge. I hope it was informative and you liked it. 🤞


diablo_divider_non_fig2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center