Splinterlands Engagement Challenge: Support Articles on Glint Shop


Every week there is a Splinterlands challenge that can be found in this week's post. I also encourage Splinterlands players to partake in the challenge because they get to learn about the game. In this week's challenge, we discuss how to spend our Glint best. I don't earn too much Glint so I have to be careful with what I choose.

Gwen's Reward Shop

image.png
This reward shop can be accessed through the shop menu and then going to the rewards tab or by going to this link.

image.png
After the introduction text of the shop, you can see the following. The items starting from the list is your Glint, legendary potions, alchemy potions, and merits. The last tab is your purchase history if you want to go back and see where you spent your glint.

Items to buy

image.png
The first thing is the rarity draws. In this, you can pick a specific tier of reward card that you want. Each tier going up costs more, but you are guaranteed a normal foil with a 2% chance of a gold foil card. You can double this to 4% using alchemy potions but I don't think it is worth it.

image.png
image.png
The next thing up is loot chests. These chests give reward cards, potions, merits, energy, and a small chance at a jackpot. These are also the same chests that you get from advancing in leagues. Above is an example of what you can get. The top level is what I got from the minor chests and the bottom level is what I got from the major chests. Overall, I don't think these chests are bad but unless you use up all your energy, I don't think this is worth it.

image.png
Next up are the exclusives. Currently, these are titles that can boost the productivity of your land. I am not active in land production so these are not very important to me. Also, the costs for each of these are over a million each. I don't think this is worth it unless you are a whale with a lot of glint.

image.png
The last thing up is resources. Merits are used in the Guild Shop and they are mainly used to buy gladiators. You can also buy energy, legendary potions, and alchemy potions in their respective shops.

My choice of what to buy

First off, I don't think resources or exclusives are worthwhile for most players. I think Brawl and loot boxes would give enough merits on top of other rewards that it does not appeal to me. You can buy them if you wish to increase your gladiators, legendary, or gold foil chance. So the choice is left between loot boxes and reward cards.

First off, I think reward cards are the better pick for most players. You get to specifically choose the tier of card that you want and build up cards that you think you will use. I think the loot boxes do not appeal to me that much after they added loot boxes for advancing leagues in ranked battles. There is a reason to pick loot boxes but that is only if you are in a high league (diamond or higher) and you use up more energy than you can restore daily. In that case, the glint earned from the energy in chests will offset the rewards and give you better rewards. You will also need a lot of staked SPS to increase your glint otherwise this may not pay off. So if you play a lot of games per day, have plenty of staked SPS, and ranked higher than Diamond, loot chests may be the better option. Otherwise, I would focus more on rarity pulls and get the rest of the loot chests for advancing leagues.

Conclusion

This challenge was to look into how to spend your Glint effectively. From what I see, I think most players will benefit the most from rarity draws to buff up their own deck because it is more focused. For the stronger players with plenty of SPS and in the higher leagues, they can go for loot chests because they give energy. That energy will turn into more Glint and it makes it more worthwhile then. I don't use up all the energy that restores in a day and I can only go up to Gold League in modern. So the chests aren't a good fit for me.

What did you think of my view on the Glint store?

Feel free to leave a comment if you read my post. If you have any questions, feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center