Make Your Dec Transfers Small Between Splinterlands and Hive-Engine

It pains me to make this post but I wish someone had warned me so I'm going to make it.

A week ago, I made the largest single one shot transaction I'd made by transferring over 61k Dec from Splinterlands to Hive-Engine. At the time that was just under $1000 USD worth of Dec.

Screen Shot 20211015 at 7.45.24 PM.png

The dec left my Splinterlands account but never made it to my Hive-Engine account. About an hour later I found the following post in the tech support update area of the SL Discord.

Screen Shot 20211022 at 4.18.10 AM.png

This let me know it was a known issue and stopped me panicking. About 12 hours later I jumped the gun a little created a ticket with the support desk.

Since then I've gone to the discord several times to ask about it and I keep getting told there are longer and longer waits. First 24 hours, then 2 days, then at least 3 days and then on the 4th day I was just told to be patient.

Now its coming into the 7th day and I've still heard nothing. When I go on the discord its just person after person begging for help and stating that its been days or even weeks and no one is answering.

The poor tech guys/gals on discord often seems to be 1 person trying to have 20 different conversations and mixing up everything because they are just swamped. While they can get a little snarky, I'm shocked they don't snap.

They are absolute saints but they don't seem to have any power to actually help anyone beyond telling people to clear their cache and try again and sending the ticket back to the desk of more senior support staff yet again.

It's pretty clear Splinterlands tech support is swamped and can't seem to get out of the mire. I have no idea if they are expanding the team but you should operate knowing you may not be able to get any help if something goes wrong.

In this case, I should have limited my transaction size and done it in chunks so if one transaction got lost, it wasn't a major hit.

The reason I transferred it was to sell it but as I've waited its lost 20% of its value or almost $200. Even if I was just going to hold on to it though there's now been 6 SPS airdrops with 61k dec not being counted. That's about $60-70 in SPS I didn't get and that transalates into vouchers.

So, hopefully you've not experienced any problems but it would be wise right now to keep your moves small wherever possible in case something goes wrong. With any luck, Splinterlands tech support will be able to expand the team and get things running smoothly again.

As for my money, I'm honestly not sure if I will get it back. I open Hive-Engine and hit refresh every now and again to see if its there but I never really expect it to be and unsurprisingly, it never is.

Update: I don't know if it was this post or if my number eventually just came up but my DEC was just restored 8 hours after writing this post. Worth noting though, they did not make any effort to replace the week of SPS drops I didn't get but at this point I'll take my 20% devalued dec and run.

Thank you to to the tech support team for finally getting this done under what seems like horrible conditions. I really hope you all have help coming soon.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center