Last Chance to Buy Current Soulbound Set For Glint?

Today the Splinterlands season ended and a new one began. That means two things:

  • the season Glint rewards are received
  • the Glint Shop gets restocked, which means lower prices if you focus on one particular draw or chest

During the latest town hall, Matt said we should get ready for the next soulbound set and the option to unlock existing soulbound reward cards from the current set toward the beginning of August.

While the date wasn't clearly stated, I assumed it means this is the last chance to get the missing soulbound reward cards for Glint, before the set is switched.

So I tried my best with the legendary draws, even bought 2 cards from the 3rd batch which are more than twice as expensive as the 1st batch, to see how far I can get with this.

I am at 96%... Starting from 89%. So close and yet so far.

I managed to max out two more legendary reward cards during this attempt, namely

Aves Sturges (never played it yet)

and Musa Saline (played 8 days ago)

Let's see if the addition of Rust for the former and +1 to magic attack for the latter makes a difference for the gameplay.

I still have 2 legendary cards that I couldn't max out, and if this was the last chance to upgrade them for Glint, probably never will:

For Terraceous Hulk, I'm missing +1 melee attack (from 5 to 6), 1 extra health point (from 10 to 11) and 2 BCX to max it out. Last time I played it was 9 days ago.

For Iziar, I'm missing +1 magic attack (from 2 to 3), and 3 BCX to max it out. Last played 32 hours ago...

If, by any chance, we have another start of a season before the new set is introduced, then I'll attempt to max these two again. Otherwise, at over 56k Glint per legendary draw for batch 3, that's it for me.

Soulbound versus Tradable

As a gamer in the general sense of the word, soulbound is ok because it offers a sense of progression.

For gamers in Web 3 and especially those who have seen times when everything was tradable, soulbound rewards will never feel as good. I personally understand all the reasons regarding abuse, but hopefully the game will be able to attract players who are not as attached to the tradability of rewards.

I only have a few doubles (both GF and RF versions). and for me it will likely be a very tough sell paying DEC to unlock one of them either to sell or to use on land.

Another thing to remember is that, theoretically, locked soulbound reward cards have a value of zero in a player's card collection. It helps earning rewards, but when evaluating how much your collection is worth, soulbound cards are worth zero until they are unlocked (if they ever are).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments