At Around 1/3 of Completing Rebellion Soulbound Reward Cards Set

We're on the last day of the season for Ranked Play at Splinterlands, and it was time for me to make the final movements for this season's chest and draw purchases.

I continue with my plan to buy all of the Ultimate Chests from first batch, and as much of the Legendary Draws as I can, with any remaining Glint slated to Epic Draws. I haven't purchased a single Common or Rare Draw yet, although I see enough players who post about it prefer them, maybe due to their cost.

But I continue to think my logic is sound for the goal I have, to max out the entire Rebellion soulbound set. Different players do have different strategies though, based on their plans and the state of their accounts, and that's fine.

My thinking is it's better to start with the big expenses first, since I am going to make them anyway. And maybe I get some luck in the chests, as I had with the jackpot on a previous season. I also pulled a 2x regular legendary card and a few epics in the chests, maybe this season, but I don't remember exactly. But mostly, they are a bunch of multiple rare or common cards, which is the only way I got them so far, since I haven't purchased any lower-end rarity draws yet.

Since the new soulbound reward cards set was released, I tried two approaches with my Ultimate chests:

  • buy them early, while I was still in Diamond
  • buy them later, when I moved quite comfortably into Champions

There's a lot of luck involved, both in the amount of energy I pull from the chests and in the win rate with the additional energy, so the comparison is more of an impression than based on repeatable certainties (or rather probabilities), but to me it seemed I was doing better when I purchased and opened the Ultimate chests when I was in Diamond, which seems kind of counter-intuitive, and maybe it even is less likely. But I will try that again next season to see how luck rolls that time. Let's gamble, right? 🤣

From this season, I'm also thinking to keep a more accurate progress report every time, in a table, to see how much I moved the needle for each rarity with the purchases every season.

Here's the situation so far:

Season since New SB SetCommons %Rares %Epics %Legendaries %
Season 11 / 02 / 08 / 09 / 0
Season 22 / 12 / 09 / 017 / 0
Season 3 (current)3 / 12 / 010 / 023 / 0

For the first two seasons the recorded data include the season rewards, and for the first season I had some Glint saved plus burned some cards, so I believe that's the main reason for the discrepancies in the number of legendary draws I could buy every season. With this season's rewards, I could add at least another 4 legendary draws to the total, but that will be counted for the next season from now on. I decided it's better to record these results before the season end and thus, before the Glint Shop is restocked.


My Rebellion legendary soulbould reward cards. Only one missing at least at 1 BCX.

Perhaps a more relevant metric is the amount of Glint already spent compared to the total amount soulbound cards will need to max out (only regulars).

To max out the full regular set of Rebellion soulbound rewards set, you need 2,227,500 Glint for non-double cards (meaning if you max out a card and you pull it again, that cost is additional to this amount).

I calculated how much Glint I spent so far that resulted in soulbound cards (cost is calculated as if they were all draws, even if some were chests).

Here' s my situation:

Glint needed for a completely upgraded regular Rebellion soulbound set, without doubles:
2,227,500 Glint

Spent so far on cards:
723,600 Glint

Progress percentage:
32.48%

If we look at the percentage, I'm at around 1/3 of the target. So without considering other factors, about 9 seasons should be enough. Of course, as we get closer to the end, we have the luck factor needed to pull the remaining cards, and more trials will be needed to max cards out at the end. Conversely, the good thing is there will be some doubles that can be burned for more Glint.

Realistically, I don't think 9 seasons will be enough for me. The last part will be the hardest. We have last set experience as a guide.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center