Learning how to use Weapons Training through Berix Snakeye

Lucky roll

Joining at the very last three of days a season while figuring out how to use Chaos Legion's Legendary Summoners was fun. I could rank up to 887 MMR, which is great, considering I played from 20 to 30 matches a day. In total, I could only get 8 chests from daily quests, but I got 13 from season rewards.

Luckily, I got a Legendary Monster dropping from one of my season chests: Berix Snakeye, who has the new Weapons Training ability. So, my first step is trying to find cards I own that have synergy with Berix. But I didn't even know how it worked: would Monsters get Ranged attacks as well?

I used my first ranked battle of this season to test out what Berix Snakeye can do in high Mana batltes:

How did Weapons Training mechanics behave? Wonderfully:

I'm very excited about the Weapons Training ability's potential. In this set up, I paired Berix with Monsters that are used only in Support roles. 12 Mana for 7 Damage in Bronze League is very efficient, or rather, devastating! However, I quickly though of an even better combo: Berix and Merdaali Guardian.

Battle link: https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sl_9d7d90845869b0a8562da39dc42b13d2

As you can see, my opponent was very strong, using Legendary Monsters, maxed commons and maxed rares for this league. My problem against them was how Quix the Devious didn't help me at all, since most of my opponent's army wasn't affected by a speed debuff or ranged debuff, because half their team was magic based. Still, I consider the team I had built as very strong. Hopefully, I'll get to use it in a no-magic match soon.

For now, I think Quix the Devious isn't the best Summoner alongside Berix Snakeye, because Magic and Opportunity attacks come up way too often in battle, leading to a quick demise of those fragile Monsters that got attacks from the Weapons Training ability. Drake of Arnak should be the best choice, mitigating a few more attacks while your team's damage rolls stomp the opposing tank.

Battle link: https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sl_2256e18d113dabb0260b92749c46d143

Learning from my mistakes led me to the above image's team composition. My Drake of Arnak is only level 1, mind you, so consider I must have had great ideas while strategizing, because I stomped my opponent's team into the ground. My opponent's Monsters were also level 1 with a Legendary and an Epic among them.

Even though I don't think I'll refine strategies using Drake of Arnak, since it's going to leave Modern soon, but I can apply this idea into teams with the Protect ability and matches with the Armored Up rule.

All in all, I'm loving my new Berix Snakeye, who has opened up a lot of possibilities in the battlefield.


Images' source: https://splinterlands.com/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency