Trampling all over the enemy

Weekly Splinterlands Challenge: Stampede



Welcome back, Summoners! I'm @easilykilled, and this is my submission for the weekly challenge within the thrilling world of Splinterlands. This week, we're taking on the Stampede challenge. So, grab your spellbooks and let's get started!

divider.png

Introduction

Hey there! If you're new here, I'm @easilykilled, a returning Splinterlands player, I enjoy the opportunities in web3 and crypto and have been a long time lover of all things TCG.

Follow along as I continue my journey in Splinterlands and the hive blockchain. This week I have decided to try make my post from inLeo! 😀 This week we dive into a new challenge in the Splinterlands universe, sharing my experiences, strategies, and the occasional misstep.

This week's challenge is all about the stampede ruleset, which as I am sure you all know, means that in battle if we are lucky to trigger Trample, it can trigger again.

Stampede: Trample will retrigger infinitely as long as the trampling unit keeps killing other units.

Trample: When a Unit with Trample hits and kills its target with a Melee attack, it will perform another Melee attack on the next Unit on the enemy Team

divider.png

The Match Ruleset

This match challenge had a low mana cap of 16 with the following rulesets: Stampede, Broken Arrows and Ferocity. Here's a quick rundown about the ruleset and what splinters were available:



  • Stampede: Trample will retrigger infinitely as long as the trampling unit keeps killing other units.
  • Broken Arrows: Units with ranged attacks cannot be used.
  • Fog of War: All units lose the Sneak, Snipe, and Opportunity abilities.
  • Splinters available: Life | Death


divider.png

My Team

For this challenge, I decided to go with an death lineup, a big consideration in this match is the low mana cap. The additional ruleset of the match of fog of war also means all attacks have to go for the tank. Here's a breakdown of my team:

  • [Thaddius Brood]: Our death summoner
  • [Chaos Agent]: Putting Chaos Agent in as our front liner, because he has decent Speed, The abilities dodge, phase and backfire make it a good option up front.
  • [Carrion Shade]: Carrion Shade is in the 2nd spot, a 1 cost unit just to buy some time
  • [Corpse Fiend]: We put a fiend next, again just to buy some time.
  • [Disintegrator]: Disintegrator is our next minion, they have Demoralize, trample, knockout and retaliate abilities. In this match I put him further back to try bring him in after the enemy was weak and to hopefully trigger some tramples
  • [Life Sapper]: Finally we have life sapper, he was protected because of the match rules, so I put him in the back to weaken the enemy while building up some hp with life leech.

divider.png

Opponent's Team

Now, let's take a look at my opponent's team. They went with a lineup that used the death splinter Thaddius Brood as well and also utilized one of the new units. Here's what I was up against:

  • [Thaddius Brood]: His death summoner
  • [Halfling Refugee]: My opponent used Halfling Refugee as his tank, a good HP with a very low mana cost of 1 making him a good tank option.
  • [Shadow Snitch]: A good unit for number 2, he has reach and affliction with good speed, hp and damage!
  • [Corpse Fiend]: He also used a fiend, again just to buy some time.
  • [Life Sapper]: A good magic damage unit with life leech.
  • [Venari Bonesmith]: Finally he added venari bonesmith another good magic damage unit with life leech and poison.

divider.png

Battle

My opponent strategy was to hit me with double strike units Shadow Snitch and some lifesteel units in the back line, behind a good tank, reach unit and a corpse fiend for protection.

My strategy with the rulesets in this match was to try get some attacks off before my trample unit gets to the frontline.


In Round 1 we got a vital misses from the second unit, this means our backfire helped lower his hp enough for the eventual trample, and at the end of round 1 we have brought, the hp of 2 of his units down to 3, which happens to be the same amount of damage our Disintegrator does.




In Round 2 we see the power of trample and stampede take full affect as we clear almost all of the enemies units.



Round 3 to 5 was a few missus but we finally get our victory.

MVP

Disintegrator was the MVP for me, because of the stampede and trample which took out most the enemy units, I feel the backfire from chaos agent was vital however as we would of lost with out it.



divider.png

Tips

If you're facing a similar challenge, here are some tips that might help you out when you encounter this ruleset:
There are several nice trample units that I have also tried to use for this challenge

  • Grund
  • Venka the Vile (if you can afford to get a maxed level one)
  • Diemonshark

But also there are 2 summoners to keep in mind, that you can also use to get trample onto your team 😜

divider.png

Conclusion

This week's challenge was a blast, and I was glad to showcase my battle, when the teams loaded I was worried that I would not get the win, but the strategy I picked was able to get the win for me. If you enjoyed this post, be sure to follow me for future Splinterlands challengess. Also, feel free to share your own strategies and outcomes in the comments below!

Until next time, keep battling, keep grinding, keep growing!

Splinterlands with stormtrooper helmet no BG.png

divider.png

Play Splinterlands | Follow me on Twitter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center