Swift justice for our sneaky foe

Weekly Splinterlands Challenge: Super sneak


3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZL7qrJ4ETeGdj5C8fSCmkKo5p1uB3VjG2bqXHi9Bi3jziQ8vvjV252PTmuTfq8auukHTy6nWQxe2d1eM1ruHLShdiDM5pEzUJd8AV7Tj84H2jp4orzFB.png

Welcome back, Summoners! I'm @easilykilled, and this is my submission for the weekly challenge within the thrilling world of Splinterlands. This week, we're taking on the Super sneak challenge. So, grab your spellbooks and let's get started!

divider.png

Introduction

Hey there! If you're new here, I'm @easilykilled, a returning Splinterlands player, I enjoy the opportunities in web3 and crypto and have been a long time lover of all things TCG.

Follow along as I continue my journey in Splinterlands and the hive blockchain. This week we dive into a new challenge in the Splinterlands universe, sharing my experiences, strategies, and the occasional misstep.

This week's challenge is all about the super sneak ruleset, which also happens to be one of my favorite abilities on units, This ability allows melee units to target the enemy backline, which normally happens to be their big damage dealing units.


26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgprEeEZ5zUEEXtXisitCc8YCuzkVjJqkSMQPNe4ApUEJjB9oEXLknWaL7hRtDguiKFBXvjBdVBGMPdnD2BZ4WuDyUKfjsx26CESxVu3Ti1jPCjsuQ.png

Super sneak: All melee units gain the Sneak ability.


ability_sneak.png

Sneak: Targets the last Unit on the enemy Team instead of the first Unit.

divider.png

The Match Ruleset

This match challenge had a large mana cap of 57 with the following rulesets: **Super sneak**, **What Doesn't Kill You** and **Odd ones out**. Here's a quick rundown about the ruleset and what splinters were available:


Ruleset.png

  • Super sneak: All melee units gain the Sneak ability.
  • What Doesn't Kill You: All units gain the Enrage ability which multiplies their speed and melee attack by 1.5x rounded up.
  • Odd ones out: Only units with odd mana costs may be used.
  • Splinters available: Water | Earth | Death


divider.png

My Team

For this challenge, I decided to go with the water lineup, a big consideration in this match is the ruleset of super sneak, in my mind the enemy would either ignore it entirely and focus on magic/ranged attacks or would embrace it and add several melee units. Here's a breakdown of my team:

  • [Kelya Frendul]: Our water summoner, providing speed and shield to all our units
  • [Thanalorian Scion]: Putting Thanalorian Scion in as our front liner, because she has a very nice ability Void armor and high armor make her a good tank option up front.
  • [Mantaroth]: Mantaroth is in the 2nd spot, a very strong legendary unit with armored strike, shield and some decent stats, he can easily become our 2nd tank.
  • [River Hellondale]: We put our River Hellondale next, she has a very strong resurrect ability and buffs our melee units with Inspire.
  • [Merdaali Guardian]: We have Merdaali Guardian next a great support unit, which has armor repair, tank heal and strengthen.
  • [Angelic Mandarin]: We added an Angelic Mandarin to our team, they have triage the backline healing ability and silence, to weaken the enemies magic casters.
  • [Disintegrator]: Disintegrator is our last minion, they have Demoralize, trample, knockout and retaliate abilities. In this match I put him further back to try bring him in after the enemy was weak and to hopefully trigger some tramples


Lineup my team.png

divider.png

Opponent's Team

Now, let's take a look at my opponent's team. They went with a lineup that used the death splinter Thaddius Brood and went with a mixed lineup. Here's what I was up against:

  • [Thaddius Brood]: His death summoner
  • [Djinn Muirat]: My opponent used Djinn Muirat as his tank, a high HP tank with a some strong abilities of void armor, magic reflect, giant slayer and knockout making him a good tank option.
  • [Night Ghoul]: He put night ghoul in the number 2 slot, he has taunt, high hp and damage
  • [Possessed Puppet]: He used a Possessed Puppet, a strong double striking unit to play to the ruleset.
  • [Barashkukor]: A very strong magic damage unit!
  • [Dhampir Stalker]: A strong range damage dealing unit.
  • [Ever-Hungry Skull]: Our opponent added Ever-Hungry Skull as his sneak protector, as he has high armor, flying and thorns.

Lineup opponent team.png

divider.png

Battle

My opponent strategy was to force all my attacks at his taunt unit, while he could try target my front and backlines at the same time, with a mix of magic and ranged damage targeting my tank, with some strong melee units targeting my backline behind a good tank.

My strategy with the rulesets in this match was to survive the onslaught and let my support unit keep my tank alive as long as possible.


Round 1.gif

In Round 1 we got some vital retaliates from our disintegrator, we were also able to remove 2 of his units thanks to retaliate, and at the end of round 1 we are in a good spot.


Round 2.gif

In Round 2 we lose our tank, but we are finally able to get rid of his tank.


Round 3.gif

Round 3 we are able to clear most of the opponents board and Mantaroth is able to show off how strong his armored strike ability is.


Round 4.gif

We are finally able to get the win in round 4.

MVP

Mantaroth was the MVP for me, last week disintegrator was our MVP and it can be argued he could of been mvp in this match as well because of his retaliate which helped to take out a few of the enemy units, I feel that Mantaroth deserves it in the end as he was really able to show the strength of his ability and it helped him get through the enemy units quickly.


mvp.png

I am renting a level 1 mantaroth and you can see how strong he is, just imagine at max level with blast and true strike 🤤


mvp stats.png

divider.png

Tips

If you're facing a similar challenge, here are some tips that might help you out when you encounter this ruleset:
There are several strategies in place for this ruleset, either try ignore it and have a backline of range/magic damage dealers.
Another tip is to defend against this ruleset, with the thorns ability (like my opponent added) or retaliate (like I used)

divider.png

Conclusion

This week's challenge was a blast, and I was glad to showcase my battle, when the teams loaded I was worried that I would not get the win, but the strategy I picked was able to get the win for me.

If you enjoyed this post, be sure to follow me for future Splinterlands challengess. Also, feel free to share your own strategies and outcomes in the comments below!


Until next time, keep battling, keep grinding, keep growing!

Splinterlands with stormtrooper helmet no BG.png

divider.png

Play Splinterlands | Follow me on Twitter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center