2024 Battle Of The Day 161/366

ReportJune9_161.png


Thanks for coming to my daily #Splinterlands Battle of the Day #BOTD for your reading and watching enjoyment.

BATTLE LINK -- June 9, 2024 -- Day 161 of 366 vs. @vietnamxintop1

Screenshot 2024-06-10 135049.png

Welcome back for today's Modern Champion 3 ranked battle, a 38-mana matchup with three rulesets: Tis but Scratches, Wands Out, and Ferocity. The modern meta for all-magic battles is choosing the legendary earth summoner Immortalis which gives the entire team void and shatter. Void is extremely powerful with the Wands Out rule since it halves the damage from all magic attacks.

However, with the Tis but Scratches rule, all monsters gain cripple which lessens the effectiveness of void. If all magic damage is prevented by void, then cripple will kick in to reduce the max health by one. With this in mind, I decided to leave Immortalis on the sidelines and try something different.

Instead, I prioritized evasion for my tank, so I debated between Djinn Oshannus and Void Dragon. Because Void Dragon has flying, it is more evasive than Djinn Oshannus, and the forcefield ability of the Djinn wouldn't be that relevant in Wands Out. The cheaper mana cost was also a help in this mid-mana battle.

Void Dragon was everything I needed for this matchup and was an easy choice for the featured card of BOTD 161. It excelled as my tank, forcing countless misses from the notoriously slow earth magic team (outside of the speedy Regal Peryton). The combination of void on the dragon plus weaken on Nalara Geinek meant that even when my opponent's attack hit the dragon, it would deal very little damage (or just cripple for one).

Regarding my other lineup decisions, I felt that getting the jump on my opponent via Akane's ambush would be more powerful than the slow from Quix or the triage from Lily. Captain Fellblade was a beast in this battle, doing most of the damage with his sneak melee attack. Soothsayer is also a great role player with many complementary abilities like cleanse and tank heal which kept my Void Dragon alive longer. Finally, Dr. Blight is a solid choice for his poison and affliction abilities, even if his magic attack is negated by weaken and void.

My setup worked like a charm and I cruised to an easy victory in this battle. I'd have to guess that my opponent overlooked the Ferocity rule, since with all the monsters gaining fury, the taunt on his Slipspawn is a liability causing it to take double damage. I'm glad I could show off something a little different for this Wands Out battle without Immortalis, and hopefully, you learned a thing or two from my analysis.

Enjoy the content? Leave a like/comment and check out BOTD 160 from yesterday!

SPL divider.png

If you're curious about any of the guilds I belong to, I've linked the pictures below with an invite to each guild's Discord servers.

Come by, give me a shout, and check us out!


Proud member of the original KoG alliance guild, Tier 5 Brawlers, and the Top-ranked guild in Splinterlands: @shield-of-glory

image0.gif

SPL divider.png

Proud member of YGG Brawlers (Niðavellir), 1 of 7 elite Brawler guilds within the Yield Guild Games Splinterlands alliance: @yggspl-official

YGGSPL.png

SPL divider.png

Proud member of my 1st guild and a recent YGG member,
the always affable YGG 420 Fam, on Hive as @the420syndicate.

420 Guilds Small.png

Templates were used, AI was not!
Your thoughtful comments are valued!
What did you think of the battle?
Reactions?? Suggestions??
Let me know about it below!
image.png
Image Credit: @Splinterlands
Referral Link.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now