HOW TO USE DEFENCE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE

DEFENCE VS ATTACK.png

image.png

Hello everyone! In this one I am going over the strategies of mastering defence in Splinterlands. In my opinion both defence and attack teams can be very useful but I believe that the biggest decision factor comes from the cards available to you in a certain rulesets.

image.png

Best summoners

The whole point in defence team summoner is to provide your monsters with either Thorns, Magic Reflect or Return Fire depending on enemies team type

  • Thorns - When hit with a melee attack, does damage back to the attacker
  • Magic Reflect - When hit with a magic attack, does reduced magic damage back to the attacker
  • Return Fire - When hit with a ranged attack, unit with return fire will return reduced damage back to their attacker
Against melee

Against magic

Against range

image.png

Best abilitys/stats

Against melee

Untitled design (1).png

Against magic

Untitled design (2).png

Against range

Untitled design (3).png

image.png

How is this going to work is simple you decide which type of attack your enemy is going to play (most of the time guessing game). After making you decision you pick the right summoner and start filling in your monsters with the right abilities (abilities are fully focused on defending not attacking)

image.png

The ruleset that I managed to get

image.png

  • Rulesets - Up Close and Personal & Rise of the Commons
  • Mana Cap - 23
  • Active Elements - image.pngimage.pngimage.pngimage.pngimage.png

image.png

Here's my starting lineup

Summoner: Mylor Crowling

  • As the Up Close and Personal ruleset was active Mylor Crowling was the only sensible option because of hes Thorns ability
  • Thorns - When hit with a melee attack, does damage back to the attacker
  • Also why I decided to play defensive was the fact that I didn't have any good cards for a full attack team and now looking back any other team would have lost me the battle as my enemy had quite a strong team
1st Position: Mycelic Infantry

  • Mycelic Infantry was one of my tanks for this battle
  • Main reason to play Mycelic Infantry here was his Shield ability and high hp with 3 shield
  • Shield - Reduced damage from melee and ranged attacks
2nd Position: Disintegrator

  • Because I was going with defence team in this battle I preferred my monster not to attack as they might hurt themselves if my enemy should play monsters with Thorns
  • But the main reason to play Disintegrator here is his Demoralize ability
  • Demoralize - Reduces the Melee attack of all enemy units by 1
3rd Position: Stone Golem

  • Another tank with Shield, high hp and 2 shield who was going to tank my backline
  • And again I didn't mind the low melee damage or not being able to hit enemies from that spot as he was only there to absorb enemies damage
  • Shield - Reduced damage from melee and ranged attacks

image.png

Starting board

image.png

  • Right after getting into the match I saw I was against almost full gold foil level 4 team
  • I also saw that we were trading our melee damage buff/debuff abilities (Inspire and Demoralize)

image.png

Here's how the battle went

1st Round

image.png

  • After 1st Round nothing had really happened that's because of my enemies summoner who grant +1 armor to the whole enemies team and the first round was just them hitting my backline and braking it off
2nd Round

image.png

  • 2nd Round was quite big for both of us
  • My enemy killed my backline tank so now my Disintegrator was exposed
  • But in the process of that one of his assassins died and three other were on one hp
  • There combined damage was going to kill my Disintegrator in the next round but doing so they all were going to kill themselves to my Thorns
  • Also my main tank killed his 1st position tank and was now chipping away of his Silvershield Knight
3rd Round

image.png

  • After 3rd Round the board was looking quite empty
  • The round went exactly as I had thought and now it was just a simple cleanup and I would be taking the victory home
4th & 5th Round

image.png

  • In the last two rounds I simply cleaned up the last standing monster and won the battle playing my defence strategy
  • Battle Replay Link

image.png

Summary

  • This battle was so fun to watch
  • I genuinely believe that understanding defensive play style could and will definitely come in handy in the future battles
  • Looking back now any other team would have lost me the battle based on the card options I had available for me at that point
  • If you also would like to hop on the Splinterlands train feel free to use my Referral

image.png

Thanks for reading and thanks for all the upvotes, reblogs, comments and follows. And till the next challenge, KEEP BATTLING!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now