A close victory

After being away from splinterlands for a while, I joined the game again last week. I played my way to Bronze II which is where I was before I stopped. Since coming back, I haven’t played against battle mages with very powerful card collections because for whatever reason, the splinterlands algorithm (if splinterlands has one) keeps pairing me up with players with beginner-level cards. I’m sure that is likely because I am currently playing with cards at those level myself. Also, probably because most of my battles were not ruleset-restricted yet.

Today, however, I noticed a change in this anomaly after restarting all over and playing my way back to Bronze II. I had to play against my love, Quora. Lol. Let’ take a look at the game.

RulesetDescription
FerocityAll monsters have the Fury ability

My Opponent’s Line Up

Summoner123

My Line Up and Strategy

Summoner123

For this particular battle, I completely ignored the ruleset because I didn't see myself or my opponent using any taunt monsters. What I was more focused on was the fact that he has a habit of using a Quora and a fungus flinger. I encountered this combination several times in the past when I was actively playing, and I think I figured out a way to defeat it then.

There the strategy I used to use to combat this combo required I use high mana cards. Lol, that much just to neutralize Quora! Aside the low mana, I also haven't rented many of the powerful cards I used to fight Quora with in confidence yet. So instead, I improved with some normal cards and summoner.

I chose Tarsa as my summoner because I planned to use Grimbardum Fighter as my Tank, and Tarsa's melee boost would be great for him.

Running out of both mana cost and time to pick my line up, I put Djinn Inferni in second and last position. I chose him because I thought his giant killer ability would be useful in fighting a giant killer Quora.

Now the battle

Before the battle began, summoner buffs took effect.

Round 1

As you guessed, Fungus Flinger was snuffed out in round 1, moving a very angry bloodlusty and powerful Quora to first position.

Round 2

By the start of round 2, my tank was already down by half his total health, standing on his last life as round 2 drew to an end.

Round 3

My tank was killed, and her ferociousness buffed up again. Unfortuantely for me, this buff coupled with her healing brought her health up to 8, which is exactly 2 health units above what it would've been at for Djinn Inferno to be able to blast her to hell with a Giant Killer squash. I was superexcited before she buffed up, and the excitement was wiped off my face when I realized that the giant killer punch would still leave her with 2 health units.

Round 4

On his last breath, Djinn Inferno was slaughtered, but at least fighting and almost killing a known powerful queen of destruction!


All screenshots are from splinterlands.com
Cover image belongs to @ splinterlands

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center