Splinterlands | New Promo Card Battle Challenge !

From what it looks like, the Battle Mage Secrets in Splinterlands has been replaced by a Community Engagement Challenge. This week is all about trying out the new Promo Cards.


It's time for some actual fun in Splinterlands without any investment, economy, earnings, ... involved. Just a basic Challenge of a friend without battle helpers or bots using Max Level Ghost Cards with a clear objective to try out one of the new Promo cards. Something like this is what Splinterlands should be all about instead of the unplayable joke it has become because te economy needs to be saved for which fun Gameplay is sacrificed.


Promo Card Theory Crafting

Before going into a match, I had a look at a potential line-up I now already regularly play in which one of the Promo Cards can be included.

The Elanor Bravefoot for me is one of those cards that is way too far-fetched and complicated as you need extreme conditions to pull this one off in that you need a dual summoner to play 2 extra Fiend cards. The Sanctus Vicar is also a card that just is too complicated as I don't instantly see any scenarios where the combination of abilities can work maybe aside from the game rule where all monsters get poison. The Delya I can see having use in battles where only Ranged Monsters are allowed. So I skipped those and opted for the most straightforward monster which is the Night Stalker

It kind of fits well in a Death Speed deck that I enjoy playing and tends to do quite well. As I have access to all cards, the Byzantine Kitty is a No brainer since it remains one of the most powerful summoners. The big danger however is for my opponent also to play this which would beat the purpose of getting in many misses especially on my main tank the Nightmare. The Tank Heal from the Kitty Protects it along with the Tank Heal from my 2nd Monster which is the Corrupted Pegasus. In 3rd Place I would play the Spirit Miner to have some magic damage and also get the Blind and +1 Speed. I hoped with the combination of the Dampir Infiltrator & the Night Stalker for there to be big sneak melee damage to really crush the backline of my opponent. Especially because they get 1 Extra Attack and Armor because of the Ravenhood Warden which would be my last monster. This deck costs a combined 39 Mana so medium sized.


The Actual Battle

Pretty much everyone that I got to know over the years in Splinterlands who are also part of our guild has zoned out from the game so it felt impossible to get a hang on someone to play a game with. Originally, I was going to do it with @mercurial9 but I missed him by an hour on Saturday and he hasn't been online since. I asked 2 other members from our Guild who I saw online in the discord but neither really were available to play a game. I still might update this post if I get an actual battle in as I am actually keen of trying the challenge feature with Ghost Cards. This even though I fear that these battles also have the game rules attached to them which can't be chosen which screw up any theory crafting as the rules are just too dominant.


Conclusion
I really miss the old Splinterlands days where things were a lot more simple and there was an outlook of cards actually keeping their value. The only thing that would excite me right now is a new game mode but if that would come, I'm quite sure they will manage to screw up the fun of it including extreme pay2win in favor of making the economy hold up. So Making this post and doing some Theorycrafting was enjoyable while the actual game itself aside from any earnings was non-existent which pretty much is the place Splinterlands is in right now.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center