Splinterlands Strategies: Setting Up Traps

Splinterland strategies_Setting Up Traps.jpg


Greetings weekend warriors!

Since the beginning of the new season, I have been grinding in Silver 3 and banging my head against the wall... anyone else feel the game got a lot harder? I haven't been that active on following the latest updates so I might have missed something or I'm simply losing touch! 😉

That being said, I did have my moments in the past week's battles and thought I'd share one interesting brawl to demonstrate how to take advantage of certain rulesets and in particular, how to set up traps for your opponent.


My Team

This very low-mana battle featured one of my favorite rulesets - Born Again. This of course means that every deceased monster will have a second chance and be resurrected.

Born Again.png

I usually take advantage of this rule by choosing and combining the strengths of Bloodlust and Martyr units. As seen in the setup picture below, I have surrounded, or protected, my Orella Abadon with two Martyr units - Venari Marksrat and Firecaller.

setup.png

In my opinion, monsters with Sneak are very commonly used in the game and there is a good chance that the team I'm facing will have at least one of them. Therefore I have placed Firecaller in the last spot. Just by standing there, he will offer some protection to my main guy, Orella Abadon.

If he dies, Orella will become stronger because of Firecallers Martyr ability. If he dies again, even better cos the ability is triggered again.

Pretty much the same thing in the front. If my relatively weak "tank unit" should fall, Venari Marksrat would then make the sacrifice twice and make Orella even stronger.

Orella.png

Now let's not forget Orella Abadons own ability, Bloodlust. Orella also has Sneak so he will target the last position unit. Hopefully, with Martyr and Bloodlust abilities triggered, Orella will become so powerful and fast that he will single-handedly take them all out.


Opponent Squad

It's a trap!

My opponent had also chosen Orella Abadon which might eventually benefit me because he(as well as Kobold Miner) will be targeting Firecaller, a situation I was prepared for.

setup1.png

Using low-mana units as bait to make opponents waste attacks is generally a good idea but it can also turn against you if you are not careful.

In the pic above you can see that my opponent made a mistake by placing two easy prey for my Orella. With his first two attacks, Orella will most likely take out both the Fiend and the Chicken and pump his stats up with Bloodlust.

My opponent Orella could very well get his Bloodlust on as well but as you can see, destroying Firecaller would also benefit my Orella making this the battle of two Orella Abadons.


The Battle

It looks like the odds are certainly in my favor but it ain't over until it's over. So, let's take a look at how this unfolded. You can watch the whole battle by following this link and/or continue reading my battle report.

In the first round my Orella indeed destroyed their Fiend but what was even more beautiful was the fact that instead of their Orella, the Kobold Miner was the one who killed my Firecaller for the first time.

So as you can see, my Orella is already way stronger than theirs even though it's just the first round! I wonder what he will look like in the end...

round1.png

Interesting developments in the second one.

My front line was quickly wiped out but fortunately, since the Marksrat died twice, my Orella was now ready to face their strong tank unit - Cerberus.

round 2.png

Cerberus was a piece of cake and one other thing worth mentioning, since my Orella was now so damn fast, the enemy melee and ranged units were having a hard time hitting him.

In the fourth round their Orella, Fire Elemental, and Kobold Miner all missed their attacks and my Orella was starting to look like what Quora Towershead usually looks like at this stage of the battle! 😅

round 5.png

In the end, the much anticipated Orella vs. Orella battle was a bit disappointing as my unit was incredibly powerful.

Finally, it was dinner time. Orella Abadon was having chicken.

chicken.png


Conclusion

As you just witnessed, with Martyr units, you can set up perfect traps while growing your Bloolust unit ever so strong. The recipe for a successful strategy is quite simple: check out opponents lastly used teams, analyze the rulesets, analyze which abilities might give you an advantage, and pick (units) certain abilities to support your idea.

Perhaps the most satisfying part of the game is when you have successfully lured your opponent into a trap. There is no better feeling than when you have won against a more seasoned player with more powerful units by simply being more cunning.

Then again, it's also very easy to fall into these traps yourself. I've often made mistakes by trusting the past streaks of my opponent way too much and learned that maybe it's better to focus on my own game.

Little by little I have developed many good line-ups for different scenarios. This was a good example and a variation of my Born Again tactics. In higher mana battles we could use Quora for example to cause even more mayhem.

That's for today, thank you for reading!

Furious Chicken.png


Earn With TON mini-games:

Telegram apps are a huge trend in the crypto space at the moment. At the end of my blog posts, I list the most promising TON apps & games and keep them updated. Check them out 👇

🔹 Blum - play mini-game and complete tasks to earn Blum points
🔹 Hamster Kombat - season 2 has just started!
🔹 TON Station - very simple farming with lot of potential
🔹 Agent 301 - perhaps the next $DOGS
🔹 Tomarket - hurry up! airdrop in October
🔹 Wizzwoods - cool strategy game

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now