Splinterlands Community Engagement Challenge โ€” Favorite Strategies: Who needs Might when you have Magic!

Copy of Untitled Design.png

HELLO to all Splinterlands readers of my humble blog.๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป Welcome to yet another week of the "new" iteration of the Splinterlands Weekly Challenges ๐Ÿ˜œ. The "old" Battle Challenges are now a thing of the past (at least for this week?) and they have been replaced with the "Splinterlands Community Engagement Challenge: Favorite Strategies".

For any old Hivers/Splinterland players who've just come back and are confused, fret not! Even with the name and format tweaks, right at it's core, battles are still the foundation of these posts.

In this week's edition of my Favorite Strategies, I will attempt to showcase how one (or more) of my favourite cards play a significant role in turning the tides of battle for my team in order to secure a win!

hive dividers-12.png

No matter! I present to you the card โ€” DELWYN DRAGONSCALE.

I will take advantage of this card in my battle showcase today to show how my team becomes a lot stronger than one would expect with DELWYN DRAGONSCALE. So without further ado, let me introduce that card to you! ๐ŸŽ‰


Delwyn Dragonscale_lv1.png

Some time ago, Daria Dragonscale nearly lost her twin brother Delwyn to the Burn that had stricken so many of the scaled. She would have lost him completely, but at his deathbed she hired the services of a dark sorcerer who transferred his soul into a special Heliosoulstone. While he was suspended inside the stone, Daria traveled to the Earth Splinter, where she visited the Flesh Golems in the root of the Elder Tree. With their help, she created a new Golem from fleshy scraps. Delwynโ€™s soul was transferred into the new Golem, and Daria had her brother backโ€ฆ forever.

From Splinterlands Lore on DELWYN DRAGONSCALE


DELWYN DRAGONSCALE is an Common card released during the Wild Format expansion. It's effects on the battlefield are ๐Ÿ”ฎ+1 MAGIC ATTACK๐Ÿ”ฎ to all your units. It's summoning cost is 5 ๐ŸงชMANA๐Ÿงช.

hive dividers-12.png

Now, the Dragon splinter is probably my favourite among all the splinters. I find that they're the most flexible splinter, being able to employ cards from the Dragon splinter AND one other splinter. Think of this like an added advantage of CHOICE VS your opponent if he/she chooses only to pick cards from 1 normal splinter!

Now my favourite Dragon Summoner has got to be Delwyn Dragonscale. Especially in the Silver League which I play in, where Obsidian is so popular and strong because of the pure damage +1 Magic he gives. Delwyn is basically the supercharged version of Obsidian, giving the same boost to magic, with the added bonus of being able to pick cards from TWO splinters! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

This could make all the difference if the battle comes down to the wire where the slightest advantage is the fine line between victory or defeat! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป This is definitely what I'd consider game changing! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

hive dividers-12.png

โš”๏ธ๐Ÿ›ก๏ธMy Battle Showcase๐Ÿ›ก๏ธโš”๏ธ

hive dividers-12.png

Let me present a battle I fought recently in which I used Delwyn Dragonscale. My opponent used the Chaos Legion edition Summoner Kelya Frendul from the WATER splinter as his main pick, while I used the Dragon Summoner Delwyn Dragonscale from the DRAGON splinter. ๐Ÿ’ง VS ๐Ÿ‰

At first glance, it would seem like I was at a distinct disadvantage.

  • Whilst my summoner was of a higher level, it was of a Common rarity VS the opponent's Rare rarity.

  • Our unit levels were pretty comparable too!

  • Our unit type choices were slightly different though, with the opponent going for Djinn Oshannus with his VOID armour and healers backing him up, while his melee DPS attacked via OPPORTUNITY and SNEAK! ๐Ÿคฏ๐Ÿคฏ

  • To exacerbate matters, my all magic based team could possibly run into some problems going against a setup like that.

  • Talk about a a fair fight. This battle would be determined on really fine margins indeed ๐Ÿคฃ.

I was honestly expecting this to be a really bad matchup for me ๐Ÿ˜œ๐Ÿคฃ. This was a team who had an innate advantage in this ruleset. His team had one purpose only and that was to counter my team and destroy me completely. Would I be able to turn the tide of battle against such an opponent then? Victory or defeat would lie in the small details.

I would say that Delwyn Dragonscale was DEFINITELY the MVP of this match, having played it's role in turning the tide of battle. The advantage it gave my team resulted in me outlasting my opponent in this battle. It definitely provided the edge that I needed to overcome my opponent.

This ensured that the other units could eventually wear down the opponent until victory was achieved! ๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ†



1.png

LINK TO MY FIGHT

hive dividers-12.png

๐Ÿ‘ฏโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ‘ฏ๐Ÿ‘ฏโ€โ™‚๏ธLINEUP CHOICES๐Ÿ‘ฏโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ‘ฏ๐Ÿ‘ฏโ€โ™‚๏ธ

hive dividers-12.png

1st CARD SLOT

The Time Meddler is chosen for this slot. It has very high armour and has DODGE which gives it a 25% chance to evade physical attacks. This makes it perfect for tanking.

It will be the most important role since the backline will fall if the Main Tank goes.


2nd CARD SLOT

The Diamond Dragon takes up the second slot. It has been chosen for it's SLOW ability. It also deals decent Magic DPS and has really high armour to take physical hits. It is also capable of being the backup tank if called upon.


3rd CARD SLOT

The Time Mage occupies this slot. Just like the unit before it, it's SLOW ability will stack to further debuff the opponent's units.


4th CARD SLOT

The Light Elemental occupies this slot. It has the FLYING ability which offers it some protection despite it's low health.


5th CARD SLOT

The High Priest Darius occupies this slot. It is a strong DPS unit who also has the RESURRECT ability. This allows one unit to be brought back from the dead once during the battle.


6th CARD SLOT

The Chaos Dragon occupies the last slot. It hits like a truck and has high defensive stats AND the FLYING ABILITY. It is probably one of the best tanks around to protect my backline. Not to mention, it also has the SCATTERSHOT ability which means no unit is safe from it's random targeting. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

I hope you're starting to see the pattern here in my team setup. ๐Ÿ˜‰

hive dividers-12.png

โš”๏ธ๐Ÿ›ก๏ธBattle Action Report๐Ÿ›ก๏ธโš”๏ธ

hive dividers-12.png


syb dragons delwyn.gif

As you can see, both of us fielded very different units in our matchup. My opponent went mainly for hard hitting DPS units, while I mostly had an army of Magic Casting units. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

๐Ÿ‰DRAGON/LIFE๐Ÿ‘ผ๐Ÿป VS ๐ŸŒŠWATER๐ŸŒŠ


My opponent used the Serpent of Eld as his tank in the 1st slot, which would normally be a VERY good choice. The Serpent has great tanking stats and also the DODGE ability, which makes it an amazing anti physical damage tank. Unfortunately, my team just happened to be all Magic based, so all this was for naught.

His Djinn Ohsannus occupied the 2nd slot, filling the role as a backup tank and Magic DPS unit. This was a dangerous situation for me as the VOID ARMOR would counter my team selection.

This was followed by his Merdaali Guardian and Scavo Hireling, both of which were healing and repair units meant to give their tanks extra lasting power.

The rest of his team was rounded off a Sandworm and Deeplurker. Both of whom were meant to target my backline with their SNEAK and OPPORTUNITY abilities.

All in all, I would say that the opponent picked a really strong team.

My choice of the Main Tank was the Time Meddler who is perfect for this task. He has great tanking stats and the DODGE ability to ensure he takes less damage from physical attacks.

I also used the Diamond Dragon in my 2nd slot whose huge amount of ARMOUR and the FLAYING ability would make a perfect backup tank.

All my other 4 units were Magic DPS units meant to deal damage from their position.


The battle started out with all our units just duking it out pound for pound. It was a really high mana game with 56 mana as the limit. The rulesets were EQUALIZER.

  • The first round went amazingly well for me. His Serpent of Eld had been taken out by the barrage of magic DPS from my units while my Time Meddler was still in pretty good shape.

  • Round 2 saw the opponent's backup tank, Djinn Oshannus, fall in battle too despite it's VOID ARMOR ability and the heals from his Merdaali Guardian. The sheer amount of firepower I was dishing out was simply too much to handle.

  • Round 3 saw the opponent's double healing duo fall in battle. The opponent was pretty much doomed by now. He had lost too much DPS to compete with me.

  • The 4th round saw the opponent attempting to get a consolation kill but my Time Meddler dodged both the attacks from his Sandworm and Deeplurker. With just 3 HP LEFT, neither of them could land that killing blow!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

  • The game was wildly in my favour by now. ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

  • It was all over for the opponent now as I eventually mopped up his entire army. ๐Ÿ’€๐Ÿ’€๐Ÿ’€

Talk about doing WAY MORE than it was supposed to!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿคฏ๐Ÿฅณ All I expected was for the Delwyn Dragonscale to give me a slight advantage. Individually, on their own, my units would face a huge disadvantage against an enemy which was simply far higher levelled and superior to mine. However, thanks to my choice of the Delwyn Dragonscale, I was able to turn the tide of battle! The opponent simply could not handle all that at all.

Well as you can see here in the link and screenshot of my battle, the results were pretty good! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

This was truly an eye opener! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ†

Slowly, but surely, I wore down the opponent's team and the match ended up with me inflicting a crushing defeat. My team selection proved to be the edge I needed to eventually overpower my opponent. ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿป

hive dividers-12.png

๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎHindsight is 20/20๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ”ฎ

hive dividers-12.png

Would I have done anything differently? ๐Ÿค” This might have seemed like a disadvantage at the start but I ended up winning handily. IF I had to use the same cards again, there would be no better lineup than what I had already used for the match. Any other combination MIGHT have resulted in a loss for me. I'm really satisfied with the results against such a worthy opponent. ๐Ÿ†๐Ÿฅ‡

hive dividers-12.png

๐Ÿ’ญ๐Ÿง๐Ÿ’ญEnding Thoughts๐Ÿ’ญ๐Ÿง๐Ÿ’ญ

hive dividers-12.png


Delwyn Dragonscale.png


I definitely can appreciate Delwyn Dragonscale and how it changes the dynamics of usual gameplay. This is one of those cards which can be turned into a huge advantage if surrounded with the proper team. The role it brings to the battlefield will give a player the edge in squeezing out every tiny advantage to get the win. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

I hope this article has given you some insight into its potential. ๐Ÿ˜‰


splinterlandsGIF.gif

To any new players who wish to explore the world of Splinterlands, do feel free to sign up with my REFERRAL LINK ๐Ÿ˜Š.


pizzabrawlshort.gif

I am also a member of the SPLINTERLANDS PIZZA guild and the PIZZA community.

PIZZA is an active gaming and creative arts crypto community on the HIVE blockchain. Popular games on HIVE like SPLINTERLANDS, RISING STAR, EXODE, HASHKINGS, WOO, TERRACORE have their own PIZZA communities here.

Don't miss out more events that are always being organised. Join the PIZZA DISCORD. Even if you aren't interested in the ๐Ÿ’ฐ๐Ÿ•๐ŸŽGIVEAWAYS & AIRDROPS๐Ÿ’ฐ๐Ÿ•๐ŸŽ, there is a vibrant and friendly community there awaiting you.

hivepizzasmall.png

CLICK THIS LINK TO JOIN PIZZA DISCORD!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments