"Man in gray" story told from the dreams of a writer

Black and White Modern Magazine Cover.png

That name was pronounced by his mouth wanting it not to be that way, something in me always hated that in public my name was acclaimed in expectation of an answer that surely I would not even be able to whisper between my lips.

It was high school, bit could be expected of it. While all eyes were on me, that covered me like a shadow where their faces seemed to twist in mockery and the sound of their laughter drilled my ears, as if that metabolized in my body in a way that the skin itself felt like it was tearing as it compressed every muscle and even cell of my body.

The thought of that man in the white coat crossed my mind at that very moment, where he warned me that if I continued to give in to this sensation at some point everything was going to disappear for me, I was going to die.

But I think it's easier to warn or try to advise to do, than to actually do it, this anxiety doesn't just chill my best thoughts, it also feels like a lava running from the tips of my limbs and gathers in my chest.

Maybe this is that moment I was ranting in my head, the end, and all because I simply couldn't answer a question in class for them.

"My chest really burns, my arm..." is what I think while even the gazes were still pinning in front of me as well, I don't know at what point I had the scraps of the graphite pencil almost stuck in my right hand from breaking it. There was some blood on my hand that was closing more and more, while my mouth was looking for some way to get air to survive.

-Easy, it's all right- I heard such a voice next to me without being able to look at which face it came from, followed by it, a rather warm hand landed on my right hand making me quickly react to what I was doing unconsciously. It was so soft and warm, it was so big that it could cover my scarred and wounded hand.

I had no word with that person, but suddenly I felt grateful, because that feeling it gave me made my anxiety gain calm in my body, I had made war on him and won in an absurdly fast way, and it only remained to wonder to whom that hand belonged, because before I realized the hours had passed, many were left without any answer from my mouth, but neither were left to the late waiting for it, because the bell had rung and I in my moment of climax had even ignored it.

It was a relief, I only had to take my things to take the first bus and go home, but something stopped me, because I had no cash in my wallet, the good thing is that at the exit there was a small food store and bookstore where I could exchange some cash for digital transfer.

While I was making the transaction in that place a young man approached me to ask for the price of what seemed to be a computer mouse. I felt the need to maybe help him with it, because the budget was not enough, he needed 200 coins of which I had plenty, and it was someone I knew from my class to whom I could easily lend it until the next day he paid me, but for a strange reason, I could not shout his name while he ran home.

I return to the store to receive the money for my transaction, and at that moment someone with a face unknown to me enters through the door, at that moment the time seems to have stopped to see in the faces of those who were there how excited and happy they were by the presence of that person whom I could not see.

It was undeniable that her way of dressing was quite good, but the best thing about it was the smell that her skin exuded, I could not believe it, it was as if my nose was really close to her skin feeling the tingling of her hair.

For me it was already a very strange afternoon, where my body seemed to follow the will of another person or rather the desires of my mind that are not processed, because that man was leaving, but not only him, I was being invited by my heart, flesh and skin to follow him and forget that my path required more than just walking.

—Come closer— the man mentions almost in a back to me without turning his face, as if he had spoken to me before, or knew me from somewhere. The most surprising thing about this is that I did not cross any word to deny or nod to his request, my legs by themselves accelerated the pace so that then my left hand was invaded by his.

At that moment I felt the most beautiful and warm déjà vu, my touch, my hands, my skin and my body electrified by the moment I had memorized that sensation from before, even from a moment ago in the classroom.

—I know everything about you, but you don't know about me— he mentions to then turn around and invade my face with his, making me feel the most vulnerable in the world, tearing from my being whatever bad thing was living in that moment, insecurity, anxiety, fear, loneliness and even death itself if it was by my side.

I could not refuse, it was a necessity, I did not want at any time to think about what others would say about the scene of two men kissing under that afternoon, in that avenue where many people were passing by and could recognize us and lead us to the abyss of cruel finger pointing, nothing, absolutely nothing could prevent my lips from untying from his.

Although I wished for a moment that it would be eternal, I could not stop thinking about who I was kissing, so I separated my face and my arms from his neck to be able to look at him, and in that my heart stopped. Not in the way you expect before you die, more ephemeral than the possibility of what I was actually seeing.

He was a man in gray, was the first thing I thought, for his eyes seemed otherworldly, as if happiness itself dwelled within them, not only that, his beard shades in step with the color of his eyes. I could recognize him, it was someone whose name I have not memorized, but whose face all my life I have imagined and asked for insatiably.

Without a word, he took my left hand to continue on our way home. We talked a bit about life and topics that I don't even remember anymore, because my eyes could not lose sight of that majestic beard that anyone could say belonged to someone who was already entering old age, but something told me that it was more like a birthmark.

If my previous paths were of loneliness and sadness, this was the only one in which I could feel that the looks despite being on us, did not penetrate that barrier of happiness that we had, because there was nothing to recriminate if for a moment they stopped to think, we were only two people tied more than just hands, of a pure love that drives me even to pronounce it.

The time passed quickly because already in the corner of the street of our houses the sky had darkened a bit, the sunset that becomes witness of our presence had been extinguished for the moment and with it, each one in a very painful way for my part had to finish also.

I was sitting at the dining room table with my parents talking about my day, omitting absolutely all reality and answering their questions with fantasies full of lies so as not to fill their lives with worries.

But all of a sudden, my father gets up from the table with a small tray of cake and a candle stuck in it as if someone was having a birthday. I asked him what the occasion was about, but it seems I asked it so softly that he didn't hear me, so I followed him to our new neighbors' house where it seemed they were having a gathering of several young people whose names I knew, as they were childhood friends.

In doing so, my heart again felt a rush, when that man in gray came out of a doorway to receive what my father had in his hands.

—We know how important you are to Jaic, that's why we made this for you— I heard my name pronounced in what my father was saying to that man. My anxiety again took over my body, my hands started to shake, my neck stiffened and my chest tightened in such a way that my heart was about to burst.

I wanted to make an excuse that night to stay with that man, to be alone with him, for something in me knew it would be the last time, last chance. However, my father refused the possibility and in me, something powerfully evil turned into words and I screamed —No, enough, enough of this, dad I am already 30 years old and I can't go on living this way, I am going to die one day in your arms without being able to love because of your resentment, recrimination and guilt, ENOUGH!— I screamed as if the wind gave me the power to echo it, as if the pain was tearing itself from my skin and soul, it was as if I was finally freeing myself in the same way we both did that afternoon walking with our hands clutching each other.

But before I could enter through that door and be happy, my watch began to ring, not exactly to tell me it was time to wake up, it was the synchronized sonnet of my life, each touch was a blow to my heart; so the last thing I could do, was to hold on to his warm hands again, to feel at peace with the one who was always there for me without me being able to see him, and who that afternoon covered me with his essence, my eternal death.

image.png



Black and White Modern Magazine Cover (1).png

Aquel nombre fue pronunciado por su boca queriendo que no fuese de esa manera, algo en mi siempre detestaba que en público mi nombre fuese aclamado a la expectativa de una respuesta que seguramente no iba a poder ni siquiera susurrar entre mis labios.

Era la secundaria, poco se podía esperar de ello. Mientras todas las miradas estaban sobre mí, aquello me cubrió como una sombra donde sus rostros parecían retorcerse entre la burla y el sonido de sus risas taladraba mis oídos, como si aquello se metabolizara en mi cuerpo de un modo en que la piel misma sentía que se me desgarraba mientras comprimía cada músculo e incluso célula de mi cuerpo.

Se me cruza en ese mismo momento el pensamiento de aquel hombre en bata blanca, donde me advertía que si seguía cediendo a esta sensación en algún momento todo iba a desaparecer para mi, iba a morir.

Pero creo que es más fácil advertir o intentar aconsejar hacer, que hacerlo propiamente, esta ansiedad no enfría solamente mis mejores pensamientos, también se siente como un lava recorriendo desde la punta de mis extremidades y se reúne en mi pecho.

Tal vez este sea aquel momento que estaba vociferando en mi cabeza, el fin, y todo porque simplemente para ellos no pude responder una pregunta en clases.

"Mi pecho realmente arde, mi brazo..." es lo que pienso mientras aun las miradas seguían clavandose también ante mi, no sé en qué momento tenía los retazos del lápiz grafito casi clavados en mi mano derecha por haberlo roto. Había algo de sangre en mi mano que cada vez más se cerraba, mientras que mi boca buscaba alguna forma de obtener aire para sobrevivir.

—Tranquilo, todo está bien— escuche tal voz a mi lado sin poder mirar de qué rostro provenía, seguido de ello, una mano bastante cálida se posó en mi mano derecha haciendo que rápidamente reaccionara ante lo que estaba haciendo inconscientemente. Era tan suave y cálida, era tan grande que podía cubrir mi mano marcada y llena de heridas.

No tuve palabra alguna con esa persona, pero de pronto me sentí agradecido, porque esa sensación que me produjo hizo que mi ansiedad cobrara calma en mi cuerpo, le había hecho la guerra y ganado de una forma absurdamente rápida, y solo quedaba preguntarme a quién pertenecía esa mano, pues antes de darme cuenta las horas habían pasado, muchos quedaron sin respuesta alguna de mi boca, pero tampoco quedaron a la espera tardía de la misma, pues la campana había sonado y yo en mi momento de clímax lo había hasta ignorado.

Era todo un alivio, sólo quedaba tomar mis cosas par tomar el primer bus e irme a casa, pero algo me detuvo, pues no cargaba efectivo en mi billetera, lo bueno es que a la salida había una pequeña tienda de comida y librería donde podía canjear algo de efectivo por traspaso digital.

Mientras hago la transacción en aquel lugar se acerca un joven a pedir el precio de lo que parecía ser un mouse de computadora. Sentí la necesidad de tal vez ayudarle con ello, pues el presupuesto no le alcanzaba, necesitaba 200 monedas de las cuales a mi me sobraban, y pues era alguien conocido de mi clase a quien fácilmente se lo podia prestar hasta el próximo día que me lo pagara, pero por una extraña razón, no pude gritar su nombre mientras él corría hasta su casa.

Me regreso a la tienda a recibir el dinero de mi transacción, y en ello alguien de rostro desconocido para mi entra por la puerta, en ese instante el tiempo parece que se hubiese detenido para poder ver en el rostro de los que estaban allí lo emocionados y felices que estaban por la presencia de esa persona a quien no lograba divisar.

Era innegable que su forma de vestir era bastante buena, pero lo mejor de ello era el olor que destilaba su piel, no podía creerlo, era como si mi nariz estuviera realmente a la cercanía de su piel sintiendo el cosquilleo de sus vellos.

Para mi era una tarde ya bastante extraña, donde mi cuerpo parecía que seguía la voluntad de otra persona o más bien de los deseos de mi mente que no son procesados, pues aquel hombre se marchaba, pero no solo él, yo estaba siendo invitado por mi corazón, carne y piel a seguirlo y olvidar que mi camino requeria mas que solo caminar.

— Acércate — menciona aquel hombre casi que tuteando de espalda a mi sin voltear su rostro, como si antes me hubiese hablado, o me conociera de alguna parte. Lo más sorprendente de esto es que yo no crucé palabra alguna para negarme o asentir a su petición, mis piernas por si solas aceleraron el paso para que luego mi mano izquierda fuese invadida por la suya.

En ese momento sentí el más hermoso y cálido déjà vu, mi tacto, mis manos, mi piel y mi cuerpo electrizado por el momento había memorizado esa sensación de antes, incluso de hace un momento en el salón de clases.

—Todo lo se de ti, pero tu no sobre mí— menciona para luego darse la vuelta e invadir todo mi rostro con el suyo, haciéndome sentir lo más vulnerable del mundo, rasgando de mi ser cualquier cosa mala que habitaba en ese momento, inseguridad, ansiedad, miedo, soledad e incluso la muerte misma si es que estaba a mi lado.

No pude negarme, era una necesidad, no quise en ningún momento pensar en el que diran los demas sobre la escena de dos hombres besándose bajo aquella tarde, en aquella avenida donde transitaban muchas personas que podían reconocernos y llevarnos al abismo del cruel señalamiento, nada, absolutamente nada podía impedir que mis labios se desataran de los suyos.

Aunque deseaba por un momento que fuese eterno, no podía dejar de pensar a quien estaba besando, por lo que separé mi rostro y mis brazos de su cuello para poder mirarlo, y en ello mi corazón se detuvo. No de la manera en que se espera antes de morir, más efímero que la posibilidad de lo que realmente estaba viendo.

Era un hombre de gris, fue lo primero que pensé, pues sus ojos parecían de otro mundo, como si la felicidad misma habitaba dentro de ellos, no solo ello, su barba de tonalidades al compás del color de sus ojos. Podía reconocerlo, se trataba de alguien cuyo nombre no tengo memorizado, pero cuyo rostro toda mi vida he imaginado y pedido insaciablemente.

Sin mediar palabra alguna, tomó mi mano izquierda para seguir nuestro camino a casa. Platicamos un poco de la vida y temas que ya incluso no recuerdo, pues, mi vista no se podía perder de aquella majestuosa barba que cualquiera podría decir pertenecía a alguien que ya entraba en la vejez, pero algo me decía que más bien era una marca de nacimiento.

Si mis caminos anteriores eran de soledad y tristeza, está de por sí era la única en que podía sentir que las miradas a pesar de estar sobre nosotros, no penetraba aquella barrera de felicidad que teníamos, pues no había nada que recriminar si por un momento se detenían a pensar, solo eramos dos personas atadas mas que solo de manos, de un amor puro que me impulsa incluso a pronunciarlo.

El tiempo paso rapido pues ya en la esquina de la calle de nuestras casas el cielo se había oscurecido un poco, el atardecer que se hace testigo de nuestra presencia se había extinguido por el momento y con ello pues, cada uno de una forma muy dolorosa por mi parte se tenía que terminar también.

Estaba sentando en la mesa del comedor con mis padres hablando sobre mi día, omitiendo absolutamente toda la realidad y respondiendo a sus preguntas con fantasías llenas de mentiras para no llenar sus vidas de preocupaciones.

Pero de un momento a otro, mi padre se levanta de la mesa con una pequeña bandeja de torta y una vela clavada en la misma como si alguien estuviese cumpliendo años. Le pregunté a qué se debía la ocasión, pero parece que lo pregunte tan bajo que no me escuchó, así que lo seguí hasta la casa de nuestros nuevos vecinos donde parecía que tenían una reunión varios jóvenes cuyos nombres yo sabia, pues eran amigos de la infancia.

En ello, mi corazón nuevamente se siente acelerado, cuando aquel hombre de gris sale de una puerta para recibir lo que mi padre tenía en sus manos.

— Sabemos lo importante que eres para Jaic, por eso hicimos esto para ti — escuche mi nombre pronunciarse en lo que mi padre le decía a aquel hombre. Mi ansiedad nuevamente se apodera de mi cuerpo, mis manos empiezan a temblar, mi cuello a ponerse rígido y mi pecho a presionarse de tal forma en que mi corazón estaba por estallar.

Quise inventar una excusa esa noche para quedarme con aquel hombre, estar a solas con él, pues algo en mí sabía que sería la última vez, última oportunidad. Sin embargo, mi padre se rehusó a la posibilidad y en mi, algo poderosamente maligno se convirtió en palabras y grito —!No, basta, basta ya de esto, papá tengo ya 30 años y no puedo seguir viviendo de esta manera, voy a morir algún día en tus brazos sin poder amar por vuestro resentimiento, recriminación y culpa, ¡BASTA!— grité como si el viento me diera el poder para hacer eco de ello, como si el dolor se desgarrara de mi piel y alma, fue como si me estaba por fin liberando de la misma forma en que los dos lo hicimos aquella tarde caminando con nuestras manos agarradas uno del otro.

Pero antes de que pudiera entrar por esa puerta y ser feliz, mi reloj empezó a sonar, no precisamente para decirme que era hora de despertar, era el soneto sincronizado de mi vida, cada toque era un golpe a mi corazón; así que lo último que pude hacer, fue sostenerme nuevamente de sus manos cálidas, para sentirme en paz con quien siempre estuvo allí para mi sin yo poderlo ver, y que aquella tarde me cubrió de su esencia, mi eterna muerte.

image.png


Las imágenes de portada se crearon con AI copilot Dall°3 y la edición se hizo con Canva.


Captura de pantalla 2024-07-06 102708.png

Also posted later on my Wattpad profile

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center