Dreemie, The Garden Fairy

img_20211207_141827.jpg



"Hey, Dreemie!" Pony, my best friend and a pixie dust fairy, whispered as he hovered in the air. I popped my head out from behind a sunflower, my brows furrowed.

"What?! I'm a little busy here."

Pony grinned, fluttered his almost pink, translucent wings and landed beside me. "More like you are having fun!" He said. I rolled my eyes at him. He totally gets me.

I cannot say how I came to be. I just know I am a cheery and chubby garden fairy who loves to dream with a wide smile on my face, hence my name.

During my break time, I loved to hide in the most oblivious places and watch couples fall in love. Sometimes, I take a trip with my friend, Cupid, and we nudge human couples together in love. It was always fun and the highlight of my days.

I clapped my hands together and dusted off some sand. "You remember the land that evil gnome set fire to and cursed so that no plant could grow on it?" Pony asked. I knew he was up to something important.

"Harry's land?"

"Yep. A young man just moved into town and bought it from Harry. His name is Kyle something…"

I raised an eyebrow. "Kyle something?"

Pony waved it aside. "Listen. He has cleared the land totally and planted some seeds! I flew past and heard him talking to the land."

"Wait, whaaat?" I could not believe it. It has been so long since we had seen any human interact with nature like that. These days they all have their sights on things technology related.

"Come, I'll show you." Pony offered, held my hands and we flew together to the land located more than five miles away from our Enchanted Garden, the home of fairies.

photo_1609193297220_8a754d166bbc.jpeg

Kyle was a tall, young man, lean and fit with auburn hair and green eyes. I was entranced seeing him bent over the heaps of soil, stroking it and running it through his long fingers, talking to it. Only garden fairies speak the language of plants.

"Told you," Pony whispered in my ears as we hovered right behind Kyle. I nodded. "He's one of a kind….is he single?" I turned to ask Pony.

He shook his head at me. "You never give up, Dreemie! Yea, he's single." I grinned and flew away fast, leaving Pony behind. I had my work cut out for me…I love to dream of love and cannot wait to see Kyle fall in love.

After two full moons…

"What did you do?" Pony whispered unexpectedly behind me where I was trying to pull out a stray weed that was bent on suffocating a young lily plant.

"Phew! What do you mean?" I asked, a little out of breath.

Pony narrowed his eyes, his finger pointed at me, "It was you! Kyle and Betty are falling in love with each other…"

"Hahahahahaha!" I could not stop myself from laughing not only at the annoying look on Pony's face but also at the mystery of nature.

"My dear friend Pony," I began, placing a hand on his shoulder like one of our elderly sage fairies, "I did nothing. I admit I nudged them towards each other but falling in love, choosing each other is their choice. No one can take that away from humans. Not even Cupid, the love expert."

I winked at him and flew off in a flash straight to the once cursed land that now bloomed with green plants and crops. In the middle of the flourishing field was Kyle on his knee, a ring in his hand and Betty, a hand on her chest, surprised.

I perched on a thin branch, chin in hand and watched as Betty said yes and hugged Kyle. I was enjoying this lovely scene when Pony flew in unexpectedly again, grabbed my hand and flew off with me.

Whoopeee!

I could not help giggling with my dear friend, Pony as we soared in the air. I love being a fairy.

1615528867_16681.png

I hope you enjoyed reading this short story. This is my entry to @snook's Create Your Fairy challenge. I invite @esther-emmanuel and @litguru to participate.

Image 1
Image 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency