UNHEARD VOICES!🌲

images.jpeg
Image Source

It's a cloudy afternoon,
I am at the top of the hill,
Enjoying the forest air breeze,
Swaying my strong branches and
Giggling my lively leaves.
I stood proud
beside my brothers and sisters,
Seemed like a big family
speaking to each other in silence.

Suddenly, I heard an irritating sound "ngeeeng...ngeeng..." and then
An echoing fall "tssuugg..."
That woke my senses,
I couldn't bear to watch the scene,
I saw my brothers and sisters fall,
One after the other falls helplessly.

Their cries and grief are deafening my ears,
It tears my heart to pieces,
Then, I felt the sharp object slowly slice deep inside me,
And the pain was unbearably tearing me inside out.

I screamed my heart out,
The loudest I could be,
"Please, Help me! Help me!"
"Have pity on me!"
Nobody answered and then silence,
Before my last fainting breath I whispered,
"What have we done to deserve all these?"
Then darkness took over.

A knock on the door
brought me back to reality,
I quickly jump out of bed
with tears in my eyes,
Just to realize how heartbreaking
a nightmare it was,
Those were unheard voices in the real world,
I wished we, human beings, could hear
May not be by the ears but hopefully by the hearts.


AUTHOR'S INSPIRATION

Hello, my dear Hive friends! I hope you are all safe and in good health. I am honored and humbled to share this poetry and my inspiration for writing this one.

I grew up in a mountainous province where charcoal making is one of our many sources of living. This poem was written by me during my high school days when my family was still charcoal-making.

I could still remember those days when all of my family members spent the night at the top of the mountain to tend to our charcoal-making procedures. During day time, we helped my father cut off tree branches, dug a big hole, piled all the logs, and covered it with leaves and soil. At night, we fetched water and my father lit the fire. And my father would have to attend and guard it the whole night to avoid turning it into ashes.

This experience is my inspiration for writing this poem. I feel guilty of myself for being an accomplice in abusing the trees back then. Fortunately, we stopped the charcoal-making long time ago🥰.

IMG20221105162955~2.jpg


That's all for now Hive friends! I hope you'll find this worthy of your time🤗🥰. See you on my next blog! God bless everyone💞✨!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center