NEIGHBORHOOD EXORCISMS - (Street Photography) || ENG-ESP

tcats.jpg


Sometimes I start creating my publications with the intention of giving them a purely photographic character. I mean to put the photos, explain how I did them and that's it... But whenever I try to do that, the "Madwoman of the house" (as St. Teresa of Jesus called the imagination, as I remember reading any time) appears and ends up lighting my head on fire, I see things, I hear other things and then I turn into lines of text, sometimes complicated, not to say "delirious"...

Algunas veces comienzo a construir mis publicaciones con la intención de brindarles un carácter puramente fotográfico. Me refiero a colocar las fotos, explicar como las hice y listo... Pero siempre que intento hacer eso, aparece la "Loca de la casa" (Así, como Santa Teresa de Jesús llamaba a la imaginación, creo haber leído) y termina por encender mi cabeza en llamas, veo cosas, escucho otras y entonces me torno en lineas de texto, algunas veces complicadas, por no decir "delirantes"...

T01.jpg
"Perucho versus the wall"/"Perucho versus la pared"

T02.jpg
"Donkey and wall anachronism"/"Anacronismo de burro y pared"

My mother, a fervent Catholic over 80 years old, who would gladly burn me on a pyre in exchange for saving my soul contaminated by my various heresies (inherited from my father's family according to her) usually watches me with her stern and invincible eyes of a retired teacher when I am in my fits of bad temper, bipolarity, depressions and other even crazier miracles... Then she usually says, "You definitely need an exorcism!" 😂

Mi madre, una ferviente católica de más de 80 años, quien con gusto me quemaría en una pira a cambio de salvar mi alma contaminada por mis diversas herejías (heredadas de la familia de mi padre según ella) suele observarme con sus severos e invencibles ojos de profesora retirada cuando estoy sumido en mis arrebatos de mal carácter, bipolaridad, depresiones y otros milagros aún mas locos... Entonces ella suele decir: "¡Definitivamente necesitas un exorcismo!" 😂

T04.jpg
"Made of usurped iron"/"De hierro usurpador"

T05.jpg
"Abandoned Nissan close-up"/"Close-up de Nissan abandonado"

That "exorcism" usually sounds like photography to me, long walks through the streets carrying my camera and trying to ignore my thoughts while I take pictures of a town whose beauty does not stop going down the drain... When my mother lashes out at me, brandishing her stern matronly voice, I understand perfectly her intentions and all the endless love behind her almost intimidating attitude... The complex part of all this is that we have always had an excellent relationship and I have never wanted to move too far away from her (we live next door to each other) and our "long and nourishing theological conversations" are based on many things, from her most orthodox beliefs to my own which often border on the abstract... Buddhism, Christianity, Catholicism, atheism, science, speculation, Descartes, Espinoza, Nietzsche and you stop counting... Everything has been in our gatherings for years... So my mother and I, beyond our enormous differences, have a kind of "conversational symbiosis"...

Eso de "exorcismo" suele sonarme a fotografía, alargas caminatas por las calles llevando mi cámara e intentado hacer caso omiso de mis pensamientos mientras hago fotos de un pueblo cuya belleza no cesa de irse por el caño... Cuando mi madre arremete contra mi blandiendo su severa voz de matrona intachable, entiendo perfectamente sus intenciones y todo el amor inagotable que hay detrás de su actitud casi intimidante... Lo complejo de todo esto, es que siempre hemos tenido una relación excelente y nunca he querido alejarme demasiado de ella (vivimos en casa contiguas) y nuestras "largas y nutridas conversaciones teológicas" basan en muchas cosas, desde sus creencias más ortodoxas hasta las mías las cuales suelen rayar en lo abstracto... Budismo, cristianismo, catolicismo, ateísmo, ciencia, especulación, Descartes, Espinoza, Nietzsche y pare usted de contar... Todo a pasado en nuestras tertulias desde hace años... Así que mi madre y yo, más allá de nuestras enormes diferencias, tenemos una especie de "simbiosis conversatoria"...

T03.jpg
"From Alberta's window and other morning stories"/"De la ventana de Alberta y otros cuentos matutinos"

T06.jpg
"Dog and sad national tricolor"/"Perro y triste tricolor nacional"

After the storm, after the threats of exorcisms and excommunications by my mother... I appear in her living room where she usually prays for hours accompanied by her cats and dogs. I usually appear with a tired face, but now I am much calmer... Then Mom asks: "Where are you coming from?" and I answer her with mockery: "I have just come from having the exorcism that you recommended, I did it in the street taking pictures"... Then that old matron with a hard and stern face, gives me a smile as sweet as honey and the chirping of birds, then draws a cross in the air with her right hand and says "God bless you"...

Después de la tormenta, después de las amenazas de exorcismos y excomuniones por parte de mi madre... Yo aparezco en su sala donde suele rezar durante horas acompañada por sus gatos y sus perros. Suelo aparecer con rostro de cansancio, pero ya mucho más sosegado... Entonces Mamá pregunta: ¿De donde vienes? y yo con sorna le contesto: "Vengo de hacerme el exorcismo que me recomendaste, lo hice en la calle haciendo fotos"... Entonces aquella anciana matrona de rostro severo y recio, me obsequia una sonrisa tan dulce como la miel y el trino de las aves, después dibuja una cruz en el aire con la mano derecha y dice "Dios te bendiga"...

T07.jpg
"A display of popular wisdom..."/"Alarde de sabiduría popular"

ENGLISH: "If you don't take care on your arepa, someone else comes along and fills it"

It may be then that the basis of the good relationship that my mother and I have has to do with the "eagerness to know beyond our beliefs" and of an unquestionable mutual tolerance which overcomes our deep generational, character and ideological differences? Then this is something good, then this is something valuable and I can even say (paraphrasing Facundo Cabral) "Her name was Sara, I chose her as a mother for the same reason that God chose her as a daughter" and curiously my mother's name is also "Sara"...

Puede entonces que sea que la base la buena relación que tenemos mi madre y yo tenga que ver con las "ansias de conocer más allá de nuestras creencias" y de una indiscutible tolerancia mutua la cual supera nuestras profundas diferencias generacionales, de carácter e ideológicas... Entonces esto es algo bueno, entonces esto es algo valioso y hasta puedo decir (parafraseando a Facundo Cabral) "Se llamaba Sara, la elegí como madre por la misma razón por la que Dios la eligió como hija" y curiosamente mi madre también se llama "Sara"...

T08.jpg
"First day of school... "/"Primer día de clases..."

And as usual in many of my street photography publications with color photos: "Here are also the black and white versions for all those lovers of visual drama and other miracles happening!".

Y como es usual en muchas de mis publicaciones de fotografía callejera con fotos a color: "Aquí están también las versiones en blanco y negro para todos aquellos amantes del drama visual y otros milagros ocurriendo!"

B01.jpg

B02.jpg


B03.jpg

B04.jpg


B05.jpg

B06.jpg


B07.jpg

B08.jpg


Thank you very much for your visit and appreciation!

¡Muchas gracias por pasar y apreciar!

ADDITIONAL TECHNICAL NOTE: Photographs captured with my Nikon D7000 DSLR camera in RAW format, then processed in Adobe Camera RAW for adjustments regarding light, sharpening, contrast and depth... They were then exported to JGP format on which minor modifications such as straightening and adding watermarks were carried out using PhotoScape 3.6.3.

NOTA TÉCNICA ADICIONAL: Fotografias capturadas con mi cámara DSLR Nikon D7000 en formato RAW, procesadas posteriormente en Adobe Camera RAW para ajustes relativos a luz, afilado, contraste y profundidad... Luego fueron exportadas a formato JGP sobre el cual se llevaron a cabo modificaciones menores como enderezado y agregado de marcas de agua usando PhotoScape 3.6.3.


"We make photographs to understand what our lives mean to ourselves." - Ralph Hattersley.

"Hacemos fotografías para comprender lo que nuestras vidas significan para nosotros mismos." - Ralph Hattersley.

CED_DSC1187BN-horz.jpg


Camera: Nikon D7000
Lens: Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 II DC OS HSM
Lens: Tokina ATX-PRO 100mm f/2.8 d MACRO
Lens: AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Lens: AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Lens: Nikon AF Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8d FX
Lens:AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G

Cámara: Nikon D7000
Lente: Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 II DC OS HSM
Lente: Tokina ATX-PRO 100mm f/2.8 d MACRO
Lente: AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Lente: AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Lente: Nikon AF Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8d FX
Lente: AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G


Montalbán, Carabobo, Venezuela.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now